Australia's Luke Brabin Wins 2014 WSOP APAC Event#1

Australia's Luke Brabin Wins 2014 WSOP APAC Event#1Luke Brabin has opened Australia’s account at the 2014 World Series of Poker Asia Pacific, after defeating a 661 player field over four days at the A$1,100 NL accumulator event to capture a gold winner’s bracelet, as well as the A$131,365 (US$114,45) first place prize. Following his impressive performance, Luke Brabin commented:
“It’s surreal obviously. I’ve never experienced anything like this. Only played 35 live tournaments in my life. I plan on playing six events, no Omaha. I was already planning on playing the High Roller. I got some stake money.”
WSOP APAC Event#1 attracted enough players to create a prize pool worth A$611,000, and amongst the 54 players then seeing a return on their buy-in was Brandon Shack-Harris in 53rd (A$2,346), Antonio Esfandiari in 45th (A$2,560), Dan Heimiller in 31st (A$3,159), George Danzer in 22nd (A$4,754), and Jeff Madsen in 19th (A$5,591).
By the time the final table of nine had been reached, Luke Brabin was the chip leader with all the other remaining competitors also Australian. Luke Brabin (J-J) then proceeded to eliminate Piyush Gupta (7-7) in 8th for A$15,318, before later being dealt A-K and doing likewise to Stephen Lindeblad (2-2) in 4th for A$43,986.
With just three player left in contention, a massive hand was then played with Brabin (10h-9h) and Daniel Murphy (10d-2d) all-in on a 10c-7d-6d-10s board. The Ah on the river all but sealed Murphy’s fate, who then lost his remaining chips holding 3-3 to Brabin’s K-Q to exit in 3rd for A$59,334 and set up the heads-up phase of the competition between Luke Brabin and Didier Guerin for the bracelet.
At this point, Brabin held an enormous 1.617m to 216k chip advantage over his final opponent, and soon after Brabin (K-Q) won a preflop shove against Guerin (9-8) to claim the victory.
Final Table Results:
1 Luke Brabin – A$131,365
2 Didier Guerin – A$81,220
3 Daniel Murphy – A$59,334
4 Stephen Lindeblad – A$43,986
5 Ryan Hong – A$33,080
6 Zane Ly – A$25,234
7 Brian McAllister – A$19,521
8 Piyush Gupta – $15,318
9 David Profaca – $12,189

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of