Wynn Poker Classic Championship 2010 Won By Brandon Cantu

Brandon Cantu has won the Wynn Poker Classic Championship 2010, after defeating a field of 242 player over three days to capture the title and the $363,844 first place prize.
As the final day’s action got underway at the $5,160 buy-in event in Las Vegas, 24 of the remaining 28 players were guaranteed a cash finish. Those making it into the money included Justin Bonomo who finished 17th for $11,737, Tony Korfman in 14th for $14,671, and Erick Lindgren out on the bubble in 10th for $17,606.
As the last nine players took their seat at the final table, Team UB pro Brandon Cantu was the dominant chip leader. By the time Cantu had eliminated the other big stack Adam Taskinsoy in sixth, he controlled two-thirds of the remaining chips left in play.
Brandon Cantu then sent defending champion Keith Ferrera to the rail in fifth ($58,685) after Ferrera tried a mis-timed bluff, and by the time the heads-up stage had been reached, Cantu had a 5-1 chip advantage over Jared Jaffee.
The final hand occurred after the two players pushed all their chips to the centre of the table, with Cantu holding A-6 to Ferrera’s A-5. The chances of a split pot were high but a 6 on the turn sealed the deal and Jared Jaffee had to be content with a runner-up finish for $246,477. In the meantime, Brandon Cantu picked up $363,844 for his Wynn Poker Classic victory.
The Vancouver, Washington born poker pro has now earned $3,693,008 from live tournament cashes. His impressive 8 career titles include 2 WSOP bracelets in the $1,500 No-Limit hold’em event in 2006 for $757,839, and the $1,500 Pot-limit Omaha eight-or-better in 2009 for $228,867. Cantu also picked up $1 million after winning the WPT Bay 101 Shooting Star in 2008.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of