WPT Borgata Poker Open 2010 Won By Dwyte Pilgrim

Dwyte Pilgrim has just won the WPT Borgata Poker Open 2010, after defeating a record field of 1,042 players to take down the title and the $733,000 first place prize.
Dwyte Pilgrim is one of the most successful players in the history of the WSOP Circuit,  with 3 tournaments wins and 20 cashes to his name for over $450,000. However, despite having a previous total of $815,000 in live tournament wins mostly earned over the past two years, Pilgrim’s detractors have always pointed to his lack of what they consider a major tournament victory, and going into the last day of the competition Dwyte  said:
“This would be great. The WPT is the big stage; we all know that. It’s one step above the WSOP Circuit and it’s a great place to get your start.”
Taking his place at the final table of the $3,500 buy-in event, Dwyte Pilgrim lay in 4th spot (4.8 million), with Ofir Mor the chip leader on a 7.3 million stack. The rest of the players at the table included Benjamin Klier (6.125 million), Brandon Novena (5.125 million), Kia Mohajeri (4.225 million) and a short-stacked Daniel Makowsky with 3.3 million in chips.
Despite starting second in chips, Ben Klier was the first to bust out in 6th ($148,427) after losing most his chips to a higher flush, followed shortly by the short-stacked Daniel Makowsky in 5th ($183,449).
Brandon Novena then picked up $223,475 for his 4th place finish, after his pocket 6’s lost to Pilgrim’s K-Q, while Ofir Mor was eliminated in 3rd spot ($266,835) by Kia Mohajeri.
As the heads-up battle between Pilgrim and Mohajeri got underway the duo were fairly even in chips but Pilgrim got busy right from the start and before long Mohajeri’s tournament hopes were on the line after being dealt Ks-9c to Pilgrim’s Qh-Js.
With the board running out Kh-Ts-9s-7d, both men were all-in on the turn with Pilgrim’s flopped straight way ahead of his opponent’s two pair. With a 5d falling on the river Kia Mohajeri had to be content with a runner-up finish worth $440,945 while the prestigious WPT title went to Dwyte Pilgrim.
As well as the $733,000 first place prize which takes his career live tournament earnings to $1,484,481, the win obviously meant the world to Dwyte Pilgrim. Describing his celebration at the end of the tournament, the WorldPokerTour.com noted:
“Pilgrim runs off the stage, drops to his knees near Mike Sexton and Vince Van Patten, and then falls to the floor face down – we think he is crying with joy. After about two minutes, Pilgrim slowly stands up and wipes tears from his eyes as the audience gives him a standing ovation.”

Poker News
Eliot Hudon wins WPT World Championship
23 Dec 2022
Eliot Hudon has won the largest World Poker Tour event in series history after taking down the WPT World Championship Main Event. The WPT World Championship concluded at Wynn Las Vegas on Tuesday after a WPT record 2,960 players originally bought in for $10,400. That record-setting player pool led to a record-setting $29 million prize
Phil Ivey Becomes Virtue Poker Ambassador
14 Nov 2022
Poker legend Phil Ivey’s return to the mainstream poker world continues as he has been named the latest World Poker Tour Ambassador. Ivey has had success at WPT events in the past, getting his name etched on the Mike Sexton WPT Champions Cup by winning the 2008 WPT L.A. Poker Classic. Ivey has made it
World Poker Tour Sold To Chinese Company For $35 Million
20 Jan 2021
The World Poker Tour has been sold to Element Partners, LLC for a reported $78 million. Element Partners acquired the WPT from Allied Esports Entertainment in a deal that was officially announced on Tuesday. As part of the deal Element Partners will pay Allied Esports $68,250,000 upfront, and the remaining $10 million will be paid
World Poker Tour Sold To Chinese Company For $35 Million
17 Sep 2020
The 2020 World Poker Tour World Online Championship Main Event concluded earlier this week and Phillip Mighall was the last man standing. The $10,300 Main Event drew 1,011 entries and had a $10,110,000 prize pool, which topped the $10 million guarantee. The top 135 players finished in the money, with Mighall claiming the top prize