Wes Holland Triumphs At HPT Daytona Beach Kennel Club

Wes Holland Triumphs At HPT Daytona Beach Kennel ClubFlorida resident Wes Holland has won the 2014 Heartland Poker Tour Daytona Beach Kennel Club, after defeating a field of 227 players on his way to claiming the title, and collecting the $80,993 first place prize.
The $1,650 Main Event was held in The Sunshine State and attracted a talented field of players to create a prize pool worth $337,500. Amongst the notable names seeing a return on their money was Aaron Massey (23rd), Greg Raymer (18th), 2010 WSOP Main Event finalist John Racener (13th), and Amanda Musumeci (11th).
By the time the final table of nine had been reached, the remaining competitors represented seven different states, although Florida fielded three finalists in the guise of Saum Sharifi, Dalton Mills, and Wes Holland. Interestingly, it would be these Floridian who subsequently finished in the top three positions.
First to exit the final table was Texan Ed Buchanan in 9th ($8,775), a big fan of the Heartland Poker Tour, who later commented; “I love HPT. I record all the programs. I got it on my DVR. I don’t miss a single episode.”
As the other players fell by the wayside, Saum Sharifi (K-Q) subsequently eliminated Massachusetts’ Keith Romanovitz (A-4) in 4th ($23,963) to leave the three Florida residents to battle it out for the title.
Sixty hands later and Dalton Mills (Q-5) took care of Saum Sharifi (A-3) in 3rd ($33,750) to usher in the heads-up phase of the competition against Wes Holland, with Mills holding a 2-1 advantage over his last opponent. Before long, however, Mills lost his chip lead with the defining hand coming after Mills (Q-J) and Holland (A-Q) went all-in preflop. The dealer then put out an 8-5-2-Q-10 board to consign Dalton Mills to a runner-up finish worth $49,950, while Wes Holland was crowned the champion.
Final Table Results:
1 Wes Holland      $80,993
2 Dalton Mills     $49,950
3 Saum Sharifi     $33,750
4 Keith Romanovitz $23,963
5 Gionni DeMers    $18,563
6 Chris Lindh      $15,188
7 Joe Froehle      $12,656
8 Jeremiah Pierce  $10,631
9 Ed Buchanan       $8,775

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of