Victor Teng wins National Poker League 500

Victor Teng wins National Poker League 500Victor Teng has won the NPL 500, after defeating a field of 259 players over two days to lift the title, and collect the $102,000 first place prize. In addition, the New Zealander walked away with a new Audi A4, as well as a $3,000 ticket to the NPLWT Manila for his hard fought efforts.
Many top players took part in the competition, including Bryan Huang, Brendon Rubie, Grant Levy, Daniel Neilson, Jesse McKenzie, Aaron Benton  and Dave Allan. However, the vast majority of the field consisted of National Poker League qualifiers who had won their way through to a shot at the $500k prize pool.
By the time the final table had been reached, Victor Teng was lying in 6th place out of the remaining 10 competitors First to leave the arena was Ray Ruiz who shoved from the small blind with 8-5 not realising Errolyn Strang with A-K had shoved before him. He paid dearly for his error and exited in 10th for $7,500,
Victor Teng then scored his first elimination after pushing with Q-J and being called by Laurence Hall with pocket jacks. Fortunately for Teng a Q fell on the river to dispatch Hall in 7th place for $12,000.
With 5 players remaining Victor Teng had moved into 2nd spot before picking up K-Q and consigning Saul Kari (K-J) to the rail in 5th ($17,000). Errolyn Strang  then eliminated the next two players to take her 3.5m to 1.9m chip lead against Teng into the heads-up phase of the tournament.
However, Strang open-shipped with J-9 into the A-K of Teng to alter the balance before getting her remaining chips in on a J-4-6 flop holding 7-9 against Teng’s 8-6. A 2 and an 8 arrived on the turn and the river to seal Victor Teng’s impressive victory, while Errolyn Strang walked away the runner-up for $77,000 plus a $3,000 NPLWT Manila ticket.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of