Victor Sbrissa Wins LAPT Brazil For $255k

Victor Sbrissa Wins LAPT Brazil Main For $255kVictor Sbrissa has won the 2013 Latin American Poker Tour Brazil Main Event, after defeating a huge field of almost 750 players to capture the title, and collect the $255,400 first place prize.
By the time the $4,000 buy-in Main Event reached its final table of eight, Team PokerStars Pro Leo Fernandez held a commanding chip lead, while his fellow PokerStars team mate Andre Akkari contributed further to the toughness of the final table.  Early on, however, Leo Fernandez then managed to double-up two of his opponents and before long he surprisingly found himself hitting the rail in 7th for $34,140.
Victor Sbrissa (6-6) subsequently eliminated Marcos Ximenes (3-3) in 6th ($47,266), before Daniel Murta (K-Q) did likewise to Andre Akkari in 5th for $64,335. Victor Sbrissa (8-8) then took care of Leonardo Brescia (K-Q) in 4th ($85,338), and after Daniel Murta sent Rafael Pardo home in 3rd ($115,481), the heads-up phase of the tournament got underway between the two remaining Brazilian players.
Sbrissa held the advantage going into heads-up and after whittling his opponent down to just 17BB, the final hand was played with Sbrissa (Q-4) and Murta (A-J) all-in on a J-Q-6 flop. The K and 3 on turn and river did nothing to change things and so Daniel Murta had to be contented with a runner-up finish worth $166,684, while Victor Sbrissa was crowned the champion.
The final table results were as follows:
1 Victor Sbrissa $255,400
2 Daniel Murta $166,684
3 Rafael Pardo $115,481
4 Leonardo Brescia $85,338
5 Andre Akkari $64,335
6 Marcos Paulo Ximenes $47,266
7 Leo Fernandez $34,140
8 Thiago Grigoletti $26,254

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of