USA's Matt Salsberg Wins WPT Grand Prix De Paris

USA's Matt Salsberg Wins WPT Grand Prix De ParisUS pro Matt Salsbergh has won the  World Poker Tour Season XI Grand Prix de Paris, after defeating a field of 228 players over five days to lift the title, and collect the €400,000 first place prize.
As the €7,500 buy-in tournament at the Aviation Club reached its last day of play, Matt Salsberg headed the tough six-man final table (1.757m), followed by Mohsin Charania (1.435m), Timothy Adams (1.198m), Theo Jorgensen (1.169m), Philipp Gruissem (776k) and Fabian Quoss (570k).
First to leave the arena was Fabian Quoss in 6th (€75,765), after shoving his K-J preflop into the pocket queens of Philipp Gruissem, with the board then running out 3-9-J-7-2.
He was followed soon after by Mohsin, who had lost an A-Q versus 10-10 race against Jorgensen earlier before shoving his remaining short-stack holding K-Q into the Ah-Jh of Matt Salsberg. The board of 2-10-4-10-5 brought him no help and so Charania departed in 5th for €95,615.
Next, Timothy Adams (Ac-8c) made a 3-bet stand against Gruissem (A-J), but after the board rolled out 7-6-10-7-5 had to be content with a 4th place finish worth €125,775.
It would then be another three hours before the table lost its next player in the guise of Philipp Gruissem with the German dealt J-J and 3-bet shoving into the Kd-9d of Theo Jorgensen. A king on the flop all but put paid to his tournament hopes and so Philipp Gruissem departed in 3rd for €170,065.
Despite starting heads-up fairly even in chips, Theo Jorgensen managed to pull away to a 4 to 1 chip advantage before things took a turn for the worse for the Dane. First, Jorgensen lost an all-in race holding Ad-5d to his opponent’s A-4, followed by another all-in race holding A-Q to Salsberg’s A-10. The final hand then saw Jorgensen’s Q-10 up against Salsberg’s Q-Q and after the board fell 3-5-2-4-7, Theo Jorgensen walked away the runner-up for a €264,600 payday, while US pro Matt Salsberg was crowned the 2012 WPT Grand Prix De Paris champion.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1: Matt Salsberg €400,000
2: Theo Jorgensen €264,600
3: Philipp Gruissem €170,065
4: Timothy Adams €125,775
5: Mohsin Charania €95,615
6: Fabian Quoss    €75,765

Poker News
Eliot Hudon wins WPT World Championship
23 Dec 2022
Eliot Hudon has won the largest World Poker Tour event in series history after taking down the WPT World Championship Main Event. The WPT World Championship concluded at Wynn Las Vegas on Tuesday after a WPT record 2,960 players originally bought in for $10,400. That record-setting player pool led to a record-setting $29 million prize
Phil Ivey Becomes Virtue Poker Ambassador
14 Nov 2022
Poker legend Phil Ivey’s return to the mainstream poker world continues as he has been named the latest World Poker Tour Ambassador. Ivey has had success at WPT events in the past, getting his name etched on the Mike Sexton WPT Champions Cup by winning the 2008 WPT L.A. Poker Classic. Ivey has made it
World Poker Tour Sold To Chinese Company For $35 Million
20 Jan 2021
The World Poker Tour has been sold to Element Partners, LLC for a reported $78 million. Element Partners acquired the WPT from Allied Esports Entertainment in a deal that was officially announced on Tuesday. As part of the deal Element Partners will pay Allied Esports $68,250,000 upfront, and the remaining $10 million will be paid
World Poker Tour Sold To Chinese Company For $35 Million
17 Sep 2020
The 2020 World Poker Tour World Online Championship Main Event concluded earlier this week and Phillip Mighall was the last man standing. The $10,300 Main Event drew 1,011 entries and had a $10,110,000 prize pool, which topped the $10 million guarantee. The top 135 players finished in the money, with Mighall claiming the top prize