Tristan Bain Triumphs At APT Sydney for $281,685

Tristan Bain Triumphs At APT Sydney for $281,685Tristan Bain has won the 2013 Asian Poker Tour Sydney, after overcoming a field of 648 players over three days on his way to claiming the title, as well as the $281,685 top prize
The $2,000 buy-in tournament was held at The Star casino in Sydney and featured a combined National Poker League (NPL) and Asian Poker Tour (APPT) Main Event. Just a few weeks ago when the tournament was announced, 2005 World Series of Poker champion Joe Hachem, said:
“This event provides poker enthusiasts the opportunity to test their skills not only against the best players from around Australia, but also at an international level now that APT is to be involved in the future. It’s this type of event that will produce Australia’s next big poker star.”
The APT Sydney Main Event subsequently fielded one of the biggest  Australian tournaments of the year to create a prize pool worth $1,170,000. By the time the final table of nine had been reached,  WSOP bracelet winner Jim Collopy was the chip leader on a 4.1m stack, followed by Brent Nichols (3.2m), and then Tristan Bain (2.7m).
Tristan Bain (J-6) then got lucky on a J-8-Q-J-6 board to bounce Jim Collopy (K-K) out of the tournament in 8th ($25,660), before being dealt Q-Q and doing likewise to Amir Minagar (6-6) in 6th for $47,823.
Continuing his assault of the final table, Bain subsequently eliminated Tony Sama in 5th ($59,486), and Daryl Hussey in 3rd ($95,645), to go heads-up against Brent Nichols for the title. Tristan Bain was eventually able to forge ahead to a formidable chip lead before the final hand was played with Nichols holding 9-5 to Bain’s 8-4. The dealer then produced a 3-3-7-7-8 board to consign Nichols to a runner-up finish worth $176,127, while Tristan Bain was crowned the 2013 Asian Poker Tour Sydney champion.
Final Table Payouts:
1st Tristan Bain    $281,685
2nd Brent Nichols    $176,127
3rd Daryl Hussey    $95,645
4th Luca Borreggine    $72,900
5th Tony Sama            $59,486
6th Amir Minagar    $47,823
7th Glenn McConnell    $36,160
8th Jim Collopy            $25,660
9th Trevor Saunders    $18,080

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of