Sydney Champs Main Event 2010 Won By Andrew Capelin

Andrew Capelin has just won the Sydney Poker Championships Main Event 2010, after defeating a field of 363 players over four days to take down the title, and the $136,942 first place prize.
The increasing popularity of poker in Australia saw the $1,650 buy-in tournament exceed the prize pool collected at last year’s event. It also helped attract some of Australia’s finest players to Sydney, including Peter Aristidou, Tony Hachem, Aaron Benton, Grant Levy, Brendon Rubie, Billy Argyros, Sam Khouiss, and John Caridad.
After two Day 1 flights ended, Day 2 saw 118 players returning to the action hoping to secure a piece of the $544,500 prize pool for themselves. Later on in the day Alec Smith with pocket Q’s eliminated Tommy Yi with As-Ks from the competition, thus guaranteeing the remaining thirty-seven players at least $2,995 each.
The final table was eventually reached after just nine players were left in the competition, and so the remaining hopefuls took a break until the next day.
The 24 year-old Honglin Jianghip was the chip leader for most of the day, and took his advantage to the final table hoping to capture his second tournament within a week, after his success at the Sydney Championships $1100 6-max event.
The action was fast from the start and within the first level, three players had been eliminated and eventually Jianghip was sent to the rail and Milan Gurung and Andrew Capelin went heads-up for the title.
Despite just 20 big blinds between them, four hands later Capelin soared to a 6 to 1 advantage over his opponent after hitting a Broadway straight on the river to Gurung’s lower straight on the turn.
A few hands later Capelin hit two pair on the flop with his A-7 to eliminate Gurung in 2nd spot for an $86,576 pay-day.
In the meantime, $136,942 and the Sydney Poker Championships Main Event 2010 title went to deserving winner Andrew Capelin.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of