Steve O'Dwyer Triumphs At 2016 PCA $50k High Roller

Since November 2014, Steve O’Dwyer has been enjoying an unprecedented heater, and not a couple of months seem to go by without the US pro hitting the headlines for taking down a huge score, or capturing some high roller event or other. True to form, the 33 year-old has now extended his winning streak into 2016, and on January 9th overcame a field of 58 players at the PCA $50k High Roller 8-Handed event to lift the trophy, and add a further $945,495 to his burgeoning bankroll.
Following his remarkable victory, Steve O’Dwyer has now won 7 tournaments over the past 14 months, which together with his other scores, has earned him a total of $8,590,662. As a result, O’Dwyer now boasts $13,996,249 in life time earnings, placing him at number 15 on poker’s ‘All Time Money List’.
A total of 58 players entered the PCA $50k High Roller at the Atlantis Resort & Casino, Paradise Island, while a further 22 rebuys subsequently saw the tournament’s prize pool swell to $3,860,000. Amongst the notable pros failing to secure one the eleven paid money spots was Jason Mercier, Liv Boeree, Byron Kaverman, and Paul Volpe, although Scott Seiver did manage to almost double his buy-in after being eliminated in 10th place for $96,500.
At the final table, Argentinian pro Ivan Luca took care of Paul Newey in 8th, followed by Bryn Kenney in 7th, before Steve O’Dwyer sent Daniel DVoress to the rail in 6th place. Ivan Luca then continued his rampage by seeing Erik Seidel off in 5th, but after Connor Drinan eliminated Isaac Haxton in 4th, Steve O’Dwyer did likewise to Ivan Luca in 3rd to set up heads-up against Connor Drinan for the PCA title.
The two players then agreed a deal in which O’Dwyer locked-up $914,811 to Drinan’s $870,625, leaving $30,684 to play for. Almost one hour later, O’Dwyer (A-3) and Drinan (Q-10) were both all-in preflop, and after the dealer laid out a 3-4-6-A-5 board, Steve O’Dwyer was crowned this year’s PCA $50k High Roller champion.
Final Table Results:
1: Steve O’Dwyer – $945,495*
2: Connor Drinan – $870,625*
3: Ivan Luca – $494,080
4: Isaac Haxton – $380,200
5: Erik Seidel – $301,080
6: Daniel DVoress – $235,460
7: Bryn Kenney – $185,280
8: Paul Newey – $144,760

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of