Satish Thakur Wins 2017 MSPT Indiana

Satish Thakur Wins 2017 MSPT IndianaThe 2017 MSPT Indiana State Poker Championship was held at the Tropicana Evansville, with 320 players paying its $1,100 entry fee to create a prize pool of $308,893. Two long days of action later, and it was Satish Thakur who would eventually triumph over his competitors, including Allan Hedin heads-up, to claim the MSPT trophy, and its $71,047 top prize.
Commenting upon his impressive victory, and the final showdown against “Big” Al Hedin, the 32-year-old IT programmer stated: “Feeling great, man, it’s a dream. I drove all the way from Michigan. I play the MSPT a lot, especially at FireKeepers/ I was really short at one point, [Big Al] had a huge chip stack, but patience paid off.”
The tournament offered 36 money spots, and amongst the notable players seeing a return on their investment was Nick Jivkov in 29th ($2,162), Adam Thomas in 27th ($2,255), Mike Reick in 24th ($2,471), Bob Castoire in 19th ($3,243), and Kevin Brenner in 11th ($5,220).
At the final table, Satish Thakur (Q-Q) subsequently took care of Terrence Esparza (K-Q) in 9th, before “Big” Al Hedin went into overdrive by eliminating Kurt Jewell in 6th, followed by Charles Payne (5th), Donnie Phan (4th), and John Mingus (3rd) to take a 3-1 chip advantage over Satish Thakur into heads-up play.
There was to be noquick resolution to the proceedings, though, and a further three hours of play would ensue before Al Hedin, now behind in chips, would go all-in holding J-7 on a J-9-10 flop. Unfortunately for him, Thakur (J-10) had made two pair, and with a harmless 6 and 3 falling on turn and river, Hedin finished the runner-up for $43,864, while top honors went to Thakur. When asked how he intended to celebrate his victory, Thakur said:
“I have my wife, she will be coming here from India this weekend.”
Final Table Results:
1: Satish Thakur $71,047
2: “Big” Al Hedin $43,864
3: John Mingus $31,817
4: Donnie Phan $23,476
5: Charles Payne $17,607
6: Kurt Jewell $13,592
7: Craig Welko $10,503
8: Ross Bryant $8,340
9: Terrence Esparza $6,456
10: Aaron Gamino $5,220

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of