Robert Tanita Crowned 2014 Arizona State Poker Champion

Robert Tanita Crowned 2014 Arizona State Poker ChampionThe Arizona State Poker Championship was held at the Talking Stick Resort and Casino in Scottsdale, and its $1,100 buy-in main event attracted a huge field of 1,460 players to create a prize pool worth $1,460,000. After three starting days, followed by two further days of action it was Arizona’s own Robert Tanita who captured the title, and walked away richer to the tune of $257,690.
The main event attracted some of the most talented players in the game, with just 150 place then being paid. Phil Hellmuth fell short of a money spot but amongst the notable pros seeing a return on their investment was  Max Steinberg in 74th ($3,431), James Bechtel Jr. in 61st ($3,577), Mike Wattel in 51st ($3,650), Karina Jett in 41st ($4,015), Jimmy “Gobboboy” Fricke in 35th ($4,380), Thomas “Thunder” Keller in 23rd ($4,745), Leif Force in 22nd ($4,745), and Dylan Hortin in 11th ($7,884).
By the time the final table of ten had been reached, Robert Tanita then took his place at a packed table which included the likes of David Williams, Matt Affleck, and Kenna James. Interestingly, Matt Affleck then proceeded to eliminate fellow pros Kenna James in 9th ($25,550), and David Williams in 8th ($40,150), before being dealt pocket fours and being eliminated himself by Brayden Quackenbush (A-K) in 5th for $83,950.
Eventually, Robert Tanita did likewise to Steve Buell in 4th ($98,550), and Quackenbush in 3rd ($131,400) to usher in the heads-up phase of the competition. As the final battle got underway, Tanita held a 3 to 1 chip advantage over Jerry Sanchez and just 10 minutes is all it would take before a short-stacked Sanchez shoved preflop with J-8 only to be called by his opponent with pocket eights. The dealer then put out a 6-6-10-K-9 board to consign Sanchez toa runner-up finish worth $175,200, while Robert Tanita was crowned the Arizona State Poker Championship winner.
Final Table Results:
1 Robert Tanita       $257,690
2 Jerry Sanchez       $175,200
3 B. Quackenbush   $131,400
4 Steve Buell       $98,550
5 Matt Affleck       $83,950
6 Mark Atanovich   $69,350
7 Huy “Spike” Le   $54,750
8 David Williams   $40,150
9 Kenna James       $25,550
10 Pierce McKellar $18,250

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of