Raffi Der Gregorian Wins HPT Agua Caliente For $74k

Raffi Der Gregorian won his way through to the $1,650 HPT Agua Caliente Main Event via a $200 qualifier, and now a week later the amateur player has taken down the tournament to claim the title, as well as the $74,276 top prize. Following his first ever live tournament score, the California native commented:
“This is my first experience with HPT. I like it.”
The Heartland Poker Tour event was held at the Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa in Rancho Mirage, California, and by the time the final table of nine had been reached, Gregorian was seventh in chips with a number of big name pros still in contention, including 5-times WSOP bracelet winner Allen Cunningham, HPT Player of the Year contender Stan Jablonski, and poker pro Michael Rocco.
Final Table Chip Counts:
1 Cunninghamn – 1,509,000
2 Chris Tolone – 1,079,000
3 Alex Madraiga – 952,000
4 Rocco – 896,000
5 Brent Thompson – 742,000
6 Bob McMillan – 482,000
7 Der Gregorian – 464,000
8 Jablonski – 204,000
9 Ronald Segni – 192,000
Allen Cunningham (As-JS), Stan Jablonski (Ad-3s) and Alex Madraiga (Ah-10h) then went all-in on a 9s-8h-7s flop and after the turn and river came Qc-5d, Cunningham eliminated Jablonski in 9th ($8,046) and Madraiga in 8th ($9,749).
Following Brent Thompson’s exit in 7th ($11,606), Michael Rocco (10-10) then hit a straight against Ronald Segni (J-J) on a K-J-2-A-Q board to send him to the rail in 6th ($13,927), before being dealt 9-9 and doing likewise to Bob McMillan (K-J) in 5th for $17,021.
Raffi Der Gregorian (A-A) then knocked out Allen Cunningham (8-8) in 4th for $21,973, and after Michael Rocco dispatched Chris Tolone to the rail in 3rd ($30,948), the final showdown got underway between Der Gregorian and Michael Rocco for the title.
At the beginning of heads-up, Gregorian held a 4.2m to 2.3m chip advantage over Rocco, and 35 hands later all the chips went to the centre of the table with Gregorian’s A-Q up against the A-K of his opponent. Fortunately for Gregorian, however, the board rolled out Q-J-4-2-3 to secure him the victory, while Rocco picked up $45,803 for his runner-up finish.
Final Table Results:
1 Raffi Der Gregorian – $74,276
2 Michael Rocco – $45,803
3 Chris Tolone – $30,948
4 Allen Cunningham – $21,973
5 Bob McMillan – $17,021
6 Ronald Segni – $13,927
7 Brent Thompson – $11,606
8 Alex Madraiga – $9,749
9 Stan Jablonski – $8,046

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of