Philipp "Philbort" Gruissem Wins Second Straight WPT Alpha8 Title

Philipp "Philbort" Gruissem Wins Second Straight WPT Alpha8 Title Fresh from winning the $100k WPT Alpha8 London last month for $1,379,840, German poker sensation Philipp Gruissem has done it once again, this time at the WPT Alpha8 high roller event in St. Kitts where he overcame a tough field of 23 players to capture the title, as well as the $1,086,400 first place prize. The World Poker Tour Alpha8 high roller series only started this year, and incredibly the 23 year-old has won two out of the three competitions organized so far.
With his latest victory at the Royal Beach Casino, Philipp Gruissem now boasts an impressive $7,976,294 in live tournament earnings, $4,605,401 of which has been won this year alone.
A whole slew of top pros attended the re-buy WPT Alpha8 high roller event in St. Kitts to create a prize pool worth $2,716,000. However, not all of the final eight would get paid, and bowing out short of a cash prize was Fabian Quoss (8th), Isaac Haxton (7th), and Timothy Adams (6th).
Three hands later, Scott Seiver went all-in on a 9-7-4-9-8 board and after Philipp Gruissem showed up with pocket sevens for a full-house, Seiver was sent to the rail in 5th for a $217,280 payday. He was followed by Jason Koon who got it all-in in preflop with A-K only to be called by Mike McDonald with pocket nines, and with the board then rolling out J-J-5-8-2 Koon, too, exited in fourth place for $298,760.
Finally, Tom McDonald (A-7) did likewise to Mike McDonald (2-2) in 3rd ($434,560) to usher in the heads-up phase of the competition against Gruissem. Just 25 hands of heads-up is all it would subsequently take before McDonald (A-6) was all-in preflop and up against the A-5 of Gruissem. The German then hit his 5 to consign McDonald to the rail the runner-up for $679,000, while Gruissem was crowned the 2013 WPT Alpha8 St. Kitts champion.
WPT Alpha8 St. Kitts Payouts:
1 Philipp Gruissem – $1,086,400
2 Tom McDonald – $679,000
3 Mike McDonald – $434,560
4 Jason Koon – $298,760
5 Scott Seiver – $217,280

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of