Online Prodigy Ami 'UhhMee' Barer Wins 2014 Aussie Millions Main Event

Online Prodigy Ami 'UhhMee' Barer Wins 2014 Aussie Millions Main Event Ami Barer has won the 2014 Aussie Millions Main Event, after besting a field of 668 players over seven days on his way to collecting the prestigious title, as well as the A$1,600,000 (US$1,399,739) first place prize.
With his victory at the Crown Casino in Melbourne, Australia, the Canadian pro now takes his live tournament earnings to $1,841,133, to go with the $5,800,937 he has won online playing under the screen name ‘UhhMee’.
The $10,600 Main Event attracted a top flight of pros from around the world and amongst the notable players cashing in at the event was Antonio Esfandari in 42nd (A$20,000), Liv Boeree in 28th ($35,000), Jonathan Duhamel in 25th ($35,000), John Juanda in 23rd ($40,000), Jason Mercier in 18th ($55,000), and Erik Seidel in 10th ($100,000).
The final table of seven also featured a host of top pros and it wasn’t until three hours later that it lost its first player when a short-stacked Scott Seiver‘s pocket eights faltered against Darren Rabinowitz’s A-10 to exit the competition in 7th ($170,000).
Sorel Mizzi (K-K) subsequently eliminated the last Australian standing Andrew Phaedonos (Q-J) in 6th ($250,000), and after Rabinowitz (A-A) did likewise to Vincent Rubianes (K-J) in 5th ($335,000), it was then Rabinowitz’s time to exit in 4th ($450,000) when his pocket fives were busted by the pocket nines of Ami Barer.
Ami Barer then got lucky when his A-10 made a straight on a 9-8-7-5-6 board to dispatch 2012 November Niner Jake Balsiger (K-K) to the rail in 3rd and herald in the heads-up phase of the tournament. As the final battle commenced, Barer held a 3-1 advantage over Sorel Mizzi, and soon after Ami Barer’s pocket aces held up over his opponent’s Q-8 preflop shove to claim the Aussie Millions Main Event title.
Final Table Results:
1st Ami Barer – $1,600,000
2nd Sorel Mizzi – $1,000,000
3rd Jake Balsiger – $650,000
4th Darren Rabinowitz – $450,000
5th Vincent Rubianes – $335,000
6th Andrew Phaedonos – $250,000
7th Scott Seiver – $170,000

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of