Omar Zazay Wins Seminole Hard Rock Championship Main Event For $1 Million

Omar Zazay Wins Seminole Hard Rock Championship Main Event For $1 MillionA total of 907 players entered the $5,250 buy-in Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open Main Event, although that number still fell $600,000 short of the 1,031 players that were needed to reach the tournaments $5 million guarantee. Four days later, and it would be Omar Zazay who would finish atop the field to capture the title, as well as its huge $1,000,000 first place prize. Following a remarkable victory which boosts his live career earnings to $1,323,469, Zazay commented:
“This is an amazing feeling. It’s been a lot of hard work. I’ve played a lot of poker and come up short many times, knowing I can do better, so having the title under my belt is extremely rewarding.”
The huge prize pool meant 150 players earned at least $7,500 for their hard fought efforts, but on the last day of action the final table was populated by a number of tournament poker’s top competitors, including WSOP bracelet winners Paul Volpe and Dan Colman, 2011 HPT Verona champion Randy Pfeifer, and 2015 Florida State Poker Championship winner Joseph Couden.
Eventually, the final table of nine played down to just three players, before local poker dealer Brian Phillis (Q-9) and Colman (J-J) went all-in on a K-J-10 flop. The A and 2 which fell on turn and river failed to improve Colman’s hand, and so he exited in third, but did pick up $310,000 for his near-title defense.
Phillis subsequently entered heads-up with a 19.45m to 7.75m chip advantage over Omar Zazay, but over the next 100 hands lost his lead before the deciding hand was played with Zazay (A-6) moving all-in preflop, and Phillis (A-5) calling with his last 2.325 million chips. The deader subsequently laid out an A-J-6-7-K board to consign Brian Phillis to a runner-up finish worth $575,000, while Omar Zazay was crowned the SHRPO Championship winner.
“The Hard Rock did a great job setting up a big event like this. It was a huge success. All the players are happy and everyone that played got their money’s worth and I hope they do it again,” commented an elated Zazay.
Final Table Results:
1: Omar Zazay – $1,000,000
2: Brian Phillis – $575,000
3: Dan Colman – $310,000
4: Larry Mocchia – $220,000
5: Randy Pfeifer – $180,000
6: Joseph Couden – $150,000
7: V.Mezheritsky – $125,000
8: Paul Volpe – $100,000
9: Rick Alvarado – $75,000

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of