Nils Jarefjäll Wins EMOP Prague 2012

Swedish player Nils Jarefjäll has won the EMOP Prague, after overcoming a field of 231 players over four days to lift the title, and collect the €52,277 top prize.
As the €1,100 Main Event at the Card Casino in Prague reached its final table, Nils Jarefjäll was in pole position with 1.195m in chips, followed by Ireland’s Kevin Spillane (809k), and Roman Ondrusek (628k) from the Czech Republic. 
Also at the final table vying to become the EMOP season IV’s first champion were Roman Ondrusek (628k), Sven Bahnsen (500k), Connie O’Sullivan (341k), Martin Safarik (339k), Pavel Býma (304k), Pim van Wieringen (264k) and Martin Dragún (244k).
Eventually, however, Nils Jarefjäll would find himself heads-up against the tables most experienced pro Pim van Wieringen. The Austrian master had played in various top tournaments around the world, including the Aussie Millions and the WSOP Main Event in the US, whereas Nils Jarefjäll by contrast, had precious little live experience.
Furthermore, the Swede started the heads-up battle behind on 1.5 million in chips compared to his opponent’s $3 million. Nevertheless, Nils Jarefjäll was able to steadily chip away at Pim van Wieringen’s lead and ninety minutes later, when the positions had been reversed, the final hand was played.
Pim van Wieringen was dealt and raised his As-Qd pre-flop, only to have Jarefjäll shove all-in over the top with pocket threes. With Wieringen making the call, the board then ran out 5d-5h-6c-2d-7s to relegate the Austrian to a runner-up finish worth €41,963  ($55,038), after a deal was struck. It was nonetheless Wieringen’s biggest score to date, who has now earned $200,427 from live tournaments.
In the meantime, Nils Jarefjäll claimed the title and walked away richer to the tune of €52,277.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1. Nils Jarefjäll (Sweden) €52,277
2. Pim van Wieringen (Austria) €41,963
3. Martin Safarik (Czech Republic) €23,560
4. Kevin Spillane (Ireland) €14,320
5. Pavel Býma (Czech Republic) €11,080
6. Roman Ondrusek (Czech Republic) €9,000
7. Sven Bahnsen (Germany) €7,850
8. Connie O’Sullivan (Ireland) €6,690
9. Martin Dragún (Slovakia) €5,540
The European Masters of Poker’s next stop is Lisbon, Portugal from March 29th to April 1st.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of