Nick Georgoulas Wins Aussie Poker Hall of Fame Event

The 2017 Aussie Millions is in full swing Down Under, with the popular tournament series offering a variety of events that have attracted players from all around the world. Event 14 of its 26 event schedule, however, had a special twist to it as members of the Australian Poker Hall of Fame were able to buy-in to the A$1,025 competition without having to pay the additional A$125 rake, but instead had a A$500 bounty placed upon their heads.
The aptly called Australian Poker Hall of Fame Classic subsequently saw a total of 123 players enter the event to create a prize pool worth $95,216, with veteran player Nick “The Greek” Georgoulas eventually triumphing over his competitors to lift the title, and collect a top prize of A$32,620 (US$24,636).
Six Australian Hall of Fame members took part in the tournament, namely Jason Gray, Graeme Putt, Joe Cabret, Leo Boxtel, Gary Benson and Marsha Waggoner, none of whom made one of the 12 money spots. By the time the final table had been reached, though, seven of the nine players remaining hailed from Australia, with three of them coming from the Aussie Millions’s host city of Melbourne. The final table then got started at 2:30 pm, but it wasn’t until past midnight that the event was finally concluded, with Nick Georgoulas eventually overpowering his fellow Aussie Xiuning Huang heads-up to claim the victory, and scoop his second biggest score to date.
Georgoulas cashed in at his first tournament back in 1998, and in 2011 finished runner-up at the ANZPT Melbourne for A$99,200 ($101,735). Following his latest score at the Crown Casino in Melbourne, he now boosts his live career earnings to $284,293.
Final Table Results:
1: Nick Georgoulas (Australia) $32,620
2: Xiuning Huang (Australia) $22,155
3: Park Yu Chen (Australia) $14,770
4: Jack Tanwhare (New Zealand) $11,690
5: Geoffrey Mooney (Australia) $9,230
6: Paul Tadina (Australia) $8,000
7: John Thompson (Australia) $6,770
8: Stefan Schillhabel (Germany) $5,540
9: Kwang Nguyen (Australia) $4,305

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of