Mickey "mementmori" Petersen Wins English Poker Open

Mickey "mementmori" Petersen Wins English Poker Open Mickey Petersen has won the 2012 English Poker Open, after overcoming a field of 137 players on his way to capturing the title, and the £78,660 ($127,492) top prize. Following his impressive victory, the modest pro exclaimed: “It just came down to the cards and it was my day.”
The Danish pro is best known online where he has amassed $5,156,740 in winnings playing tournaments under the screen name “mement_mori.” However, Petersen’s live tournament results have begun to take off, too, and he was now $909,399 in cashes to his name, $656,988 of which has been won in 2012.
As the £2,180 buy-in tournament got underway at London’s Fox Poker Club, a whole slew of top pros were attracted to the venue including Sam Trickett, Surinder Sunar, Liv Boeree, James Akenhead, Neil Channing and Roberto Romanello. By the time the final table of nine had been reached, the finalists lined-up as follows:
1 Jamie Roberts 616,500
2 Nicola Lategano 453,000
3 Mickey Petersen 422,000
4 Ben Jackson     371,500
5 Niels Ladefoged 363,000
6 Surinder Sunar 333,000
7 Thomas Laumier 321,000
8 Chris Bjorin     317,500
9 Igor Kurganov 242,000
When just five players remained, Mickey Petersen (Q-Q) then eliminated Nicola Lategano in 5th (£20,700), before his A-10 got lucky against Jamie Roberts’ Ad-Kd to dispatch him to the rail in 4th for £28,290. Subsequently, Chris Bjorin eliminated Surinder Sunar in 3rd (£35,880) to get the heads-up phase of the competition rolling with Petersen holding a 4.5 to 1 lead over his Swedish opponent. A little later, the final hand of the tournament was then played after Petersen shoved pre-flop holding 9-9 and was called by Bjorin with A-K. The 7-10-8-5-5 board sealed Chris Bjorin’s fate and so he finished the runner-up for £49,690, while Mickey Petersen was crowned the 2012 English Poker Open champion.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1: Mickey Petersen –- £78,660
2: Chris Bjorin –- £49,690
3: Surinder Sunar — £35,880
4: Jamie Roberts — £28,290
5: Nicola Lategano — £20,700
6: Ben Jackson — £15,180
7: Niels Ladefoged — £10,350
8: Thomas Laumier — £8,280
9: Igor Kurganov — £6,210

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of