Michael Gathy Wins Belgian Poker Series Grand Final 2011

Michael Gathy Wins Belgian Poker Series Grand Final 2011Michael Gathy has won the Belgian Poker Series Grand Final 2011, after defeating a field of 538 players on his way to lifting the title, and collecting the €175,000 ($233,645) first place prize.
The €1,700 buy-in Grand Final took place in the city of Namur, the capital of the province of Wallonia. It also managed to attract a vast field from 32 different nations, all looking to share in the €749,972 ($1,001,298) prize pool.
The enormous tournament then ran for nine days between December 10th to 18th, which included four Day 1 flights and two Day 2 flights. By the time the final table of eight had been reached, Belgium’s Michael Gathy was way out in front as the table leader with over 5 million in chips.
The other finalists at the table included Ferdinando D’Alessio (2.365m), Pascal Junkar (2.295m), Stéphane Buzzo (2.33m), Olivier Brismee (1.57m), Rolando Camardese (950k), Mohamed Elhamdi (635k) and Carlo Vanseer (660k).
Michael Gathy was also the player most in form, having finished in September at the European Short Handed Poker Championship Main Event in 2nd place for a €54.300 ($77,894) payday.
This time around, the Belgium player’s good run continued and he proceeded to steamroll a table full of his fellow countrymen on his way to securing a first career victory. The final positions were as follows:
1. Michaël Gathy (Belgium) €175,000
2. Pascal Junkar (France) €105,000
3. Stéphane Buzzo (Belgium) €63,250
4. Ferdinando D’Alessio (Belgium) €46,502
5. Rolando Camardes (Italy) €35,500
6. Mohamed Elhamdi (Belgium) €27,500
7. Olivier Brismee (Belgium) €20,500
8. Carlo Vanseer (Belgium) €14,500
With his victory in Namur, Michael Gathy has now taken his live career earnings to $311,539, placing him in 9th spot on Belgium Top Money Winners List. Davidi Kitai currently holds the distinction of being Belgium’s top tournament money winner with $1,728,229 and a WSOP bracelet to his credit.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of