Mega Poker Series Dublin Fails To Live Up To Name

Mega Poker Series Dublin Fails To Live Up To NameThe Mega Poker Series (MPS) Dublin Main Event failed to live up to its name after just 70 players bought in to the €800 ($907) buy-in tournament. Mind you, it could have been much worse as Day 1A saw a mere seven people enter the event, which subsequently played down to two players before the action was stopped for the day. Luckily for organizers, Day 1B attracted a bigger field of 53, but ultimately the low turn out meant the prize pool offered was a paltry €48,385 ($53,976), with just nine final tablists seeing a return on their money.
The turn out was considered particularly disappointing, as the tournament came on the heels of the hugely popular Irish Poker Cup, and players were apparently told to expect at least 65 competitors on Day 1A of the MPS alone. Amongst the reasons suggested for the small field is a general lack of advertising and promotions, very few live satellites for the William Hill sponsored event, as well as an unattractive tournament structure with no prize pool guarantee.
That said, Fintan Gavin will still have fond memories of the tournament after capturing the title for €15,600, although that figure pales in comparison to the €792,000 ($ 1,129,750) he won after finishing runner-up at the 2008 EPT Barcelona Main Event. Following his latest triumph, the Irishman now boosts his live career earnings to $1,550,506.
On his way to victory, Fintan Gavin eliminated Aidan O’Reilly (7th), Francisco Hernandez (6th), and David Lappin (4th), before facing off against Scotland’s Andrew Leathem for the title. The deciding hand was eventually played with Gavin (9-9) calling Leathem’s all-in shove holding 8-6. The dealer then laid out a Q-9-5-4-2 board to consign Andrew Leathem to a runner-up finish worth €10,700, while Gavin was crowned the MPS Main Event champion.
Final Table Results:
1 Fintan Gavin €15,600
2 Andrew Leathem €10,700
3 Paul Turek €6,300
4 David Lappin €4,600
5 David O’Kelly €3,500
6 Francisco Hernandez €2,800
7 Aidan O’Reilly €2,200
8 Nabil Cardoso €1,685
9 Diego Benitez €1,000

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of