Matthew Anderson Wins MSPT Meskwaki For $100k

Matthew Anderson Wins MSPT Meskwaki For $100kMatthew Anderson has triumphed at the 2014 Mid-States Poker Tour Meskwaki Casino, after overcoming a field of 389 players over two days on the way to  capturing the title, and collecting the $100,075 first place prize.
The $1,100 Rebuy Main Event attracted a talented array of players to create a prize pool worth $374,730. Amongst the notable names booking a return on their money was Brett Schwertley in 34th ($2,066), Isidro Sandoval in 29th ($2,066), and Eric Loehr in 27th ($2,818).
Following the final table of nine being reached, Ryan Tepen was reduced to a short stack when his (A-6) four-bet was called by Taylor Howard (A-Q) with the board then rolling out 5-2-3-2-9. Soon after Ryan Tepen exited the event in 9th for $9,393.
Next was the turn of Marty Martimo who ran his pocket sixes into the pocket kings of Matt Kirby to be eliminated in 8th ($11,272), while Mat Anderson (A-7) took care of Rick McGown (J-8) in 7th for $13,151.
Matt Kirby (A-Q) then proceeded to bounce Aaron Johnson (9-9) from the competition in 6th ($15,029), with Mat Anderson’s pocket fours then good enough to bring Ken Payne’s (A-9) MSPT title hopes to an end in 5th for $18,787.
Half an hour into four-handed play, Matthew Anderson (A-K) won a preflop race against Taylor Howard (8-8) to see him off in 4th ($24,423), and after Anderson (10-10) did likewise to J. Putthoff in 3rd ($36,070), the heads up phase of the tournament was set.
After an extremely brief final battle, the defining hand was eventually reached with Kirby (6s-4s) and Anderson (K-3) all-in on a Ks-9s-Kc flop. The turn and river subsequently produced a Kd and 8c to consign Kirby to a runner-up finish worth $54,481, while Matthew Anderson was crowned the 2014 Mid-States Poker Tour Meskwaki champion.
Final Table Results:
1 Mat Anderson $100,075
2 Matt Kirby    $54,481
3 J. Putthoff    $36,070
4 Taylor Howard    $24,423
5 Ken Payne    $18,787
6 Aaron Johnson    $15,029
7 Rick McGown    $13,151
8 Marty Martimo    $11,272
9 Ryan Tepen    $9,393

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of