Laurent Polito Wins Record 4th WPT National Title In Belgium

Laurent Polito Wins Record 4th WPT National Title In BelgiumLast weekend, the WPTN Main Event took place at the Grand Casino Brussels in Belgium, with 428 players entering the €700 buy-in tournament to create a prize pool worth €280,233 ($307,938). Three days later and it was French pro Laurent Polito who would ultimately triumph over the field to claim the €56,500 ($62,085) first place prize, as well as a record breaking fourth World Poker Tour National (WPTN) Main Event title in the space of just three years.
Following his remarkable victory, Polito now boosts his tournament earnings to $1,455,585, placing him at number 26 on France’s all-time money list, although he has a long way to go if he is catch such players as Bertrand Grospellier ($10,931,139), David Benyamine ($7,162,609), Fabrice Soulier ($5,753,619), and Roger Hairabedian ($4,760,737).
A total of 54 players received cash payouts at the WPTN Main Event, and amongst the notable pros seeing a return on their buy-ins was Tarak Bouchama in 50th (€1,300), Bart Lybaert in 49th (€1,300), Heinrich Pauker in 35th (€1,725), Franck Kalfon in 30th (€1,725), and Jerome Sgorrano in 26th (€1,985).
After the final table had been set, Laurent Polito then progressed all the way through to heads-up play where he eventually defeated Czech player Michal Mrakes to claim his 4th World Poker Tour National title. Laurent Polito’s first WPTN victory was in January 2013 at the €1,500 WPT Euro Finals of Poker for €74,500, followed in May 2014 at the €1,200 WPT National Cannes for €86,000, and in December 2014 at the €1,200 WPT National Paris for €140,000. Laurent Polito’s best tournament score to date, however, came in 2012 at the €10,300 ESPT High Roller Barcelona, which he won for a €270,229 ($332,017) payday.
Final Table Results:
1: Laurent Polito – €56,500
2: Michal Mrakes – €39,500
3: Stieven Razab Sekh – €25,400
4: Endre Sagstuen – €18,800
5: Ngock Nguyen – €14,100
6: Patrick van den Dries – €11,300
7: Thierry Luksenberg- €9,400
8: Jeremiah Tapia – €7,500
9: Ivar Walstra – €5,603

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of