Kristan Mackiewicz Wins Seneca Fall Poker Event For $11,365

Kristan Mackiewicz Wins Seneca Fall Poker Event For $11,365On November 13th, the 2015 Seneca Fall Poker Classic got underway at the Seneca Niagara Casino in Niagara Falls, New York, and is set to run until November 23rd, during which time a total of six events will be played. The first of those tournaments was $200 No-Limit Hold’em event with a $50,000 guaranteed prize pool, although that figure almost doubled after 599 players entered the competition to create a prize pool worth $96,738.
Two days of action later, and it would be 33-year-old special education teacher Kristan Mackiewicz who would emerge a top of the field to capture its trophy, as well as $11,365 in prize money. Following her impressive victory, Mackiewicz now boasts $21,026 in live career earnings, and five tournament titles, all with buy-ins in the $35 to $170 range.
On Day 2 of the $200 Seneca Fall opening event, 90 survivors returned to the fray and by 7.p.m. local time the final table of nine was set. Kristan Mackiewicz then proceeded to eliminate Michael Davis in 9th, and by the time five-handed play was reached the remaining players struck a deal which saw each of them secure at least $10,165 for their efforts, with an extra $5,000 earmarked for the eventual winner.
After the action resumed, Mackiewicz subsequently took out Geoffrey O’Connor in 5th, and Dominic Baranyi in 4th, at which stage just Todd Saffron, Brad Bourne, and Mackiewicz were left in contention. Despite holding a commanding lead, Mackiewicz (Q-Q) then lost a crucial all-in hand against Bourne (A-4) when the dealer laid out a 8-A-7-K-A board, after which the players decided to split the extra $5,000 equally, and simply flip for the title. Fortunately for her, Kristan Mackiewicz won that, too, and so she walked way the victor, whilst securing her fifth career poker tournament title since 2014.
Final Table Results:
1 Kristan Mackiewicz $11,365**
2 Brad Bourne $11,365**
3 Todd Saffron $11,365**
4 Dominic Baranyi $10,165*
5 Geoffrey O’Connor $10,165*
6 Joe Ciffa $3,531
7 Silvio DeRubeis $2,951
8 Kevin Reyes $2,418
9 Michael Davis $2,031

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of