Jussi Nevanlinna Triumphs At 2015 Master Classics of Poker

Jussi Nevanlinna Triumphs At 2015 Master Classics of PokerThe €4,250 Master Classics of Poker Main Event attracted 291 players to the Holland Casino in Amsterdam to create a prize pool worth €1,154,193. Four days later, and it was Jussi Nevanlinna who triumphed over the field to capture the title, and walk away with the tournament’s €300,000 first-place prize. With his latest victory, the Finnish pro now boosts his career earnings to $1,708,790 since his first live cash back in 2007.
The Master Classics of Poker saw some of the game’s best poker players turn up for the main event, and amongst the notable names cashing in at one of the 36 money spots was Martin Finger in 34th (€5,762), Anton Wigg in 30th (€8,067), Ruben Visser in 23rd (€8,067), Steve O’Dwyer in 22nd (€8,067), and Michiel Brummelhuis in 13th (€14,981).
After the final table had been reached, Nevanlinna (K-K) eliminated Kilian Kramer (A-Q) in 9th (€23,047), before being dealt A-J and doing likewise to Johnny Hansen (A-8) in 8th for €34,571. Jussi Nevanlinna (A-A) followed up by sending Joep van den Bijgaart (6-6) to the rail in 7th (€46,095), and soon after the Finnish pro (A-8) eliminated 2015 WSOPE bracelet winner Makarios Avramidis (A-2) from the competition in 6th for €57,618.
Continuing his assault at the final table, Jussi Nevanlinna took care of Clyde Tjauw Foe in 5th (€70,294), and when just three players remained, Nevanlinna (A-6) sent Donald Rae (K-K) to the rail in 3rd (€102,560) to usher in heads-up play against Greece’s Georgios Zisimopoulos for the title.
The final battle which ensued was brief, though, and six hands later the deciding hand was played with Zisimopoulos all-in preflop holding A-J, but up against the A-Q of Nevanlinna. The Q-2-3-9-3 board subsequently sealed the deal, and so Zisimopoulos had to be satisfied with a runner-up finish worth €178,616, while Jussi Nevanlinna was crowned the champion.
Final Table Results:
1 Jussi Nevanlinna €300,000
2 Georgios Zisimopoulos €178,616
3 Donald Rae €102,560
4 Kees van Brugge €81,818
5 Clyde Tjauw Foe €70,294
6 Makarios Avramidis €57,618
7 Joep van den Bijgaart €46,095
8 Johnny Hansen €34,571
9 Kilian Kramer €23,047

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of