Josh Williams Wins WSOPC Horseshoe Hammond For $386k

Josh Williams Wins WSOPC Horseshoe Hammond For $386kJosh Williams has won the WSOPC Horseshoe Hammond, after defeating a field of 1,523 players over three days to lift the title, and collect the $385,909 first place prize.
As the $1,675 buy-in tournament reached its last day in Hammond, Indiana, 29 players still remained which was eventually whittled down to a final table of nine when last woman standing Claudia Crawford was eliminated in 10th place for $31,565.
At this stage, Josh Williams held the chip lead and was able to add further to his stack after being dealt A-A to Shiva Dudani’s pocket eights, who subsequently exited in 7th for $62,438. Josh Williams (10-10) followed up by dispatching Brad Albrinck (A-K) to the rail in 6th ($80,179), and then Zal Irani in 5th ($104,371), whose A-10 was no match for Williams pocket queens.
When just three players remained, Josh Williams (Ac-10c) opened for 875k only to be shoved on by Tripp Kirk (A-8) for 8.6 million. Williams eventually made the call and was relieved to see the board roll out 4-A-3-Q-7 to eliminate Tripp Kirk in 3rd ($180,403), thus heralding-in the head-up phase of the competition.
As the battle commenced, Josh Williams  held a 4 to 1 chip lead over Ryan Riess and before long the defining hand was played after Williams was dealt 7-3 to his opponent’s 10-6. Both players limped then checked the Q-7-4 flop, with William’s subsequently check-calling  Riess’ bet on the K turn. After an 8 fell on the river, Williams checked once more only to have Riess move all-in on him.
Mulling over the situation for a while, Williams eventually announced; “This would be the thinnest call of all time, but I think you have jack-ten,” before making the call. Fortunately for him, his instincts were correct and so Ryan Riess finished the runer-up for $239,063, while Josh Williams scored the biggest payday of his poker career.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1: Josh Williams $385,909
2: Ryan Riess    $239,063
3: Tripp Kirk    $180,403
4: Sean Szurko    $137,088
5: Zal Irani    $104,371
6: Brad Albrinck $80,179
7: Shiva Dudani    $62,438
8: Nick Guagenti $49,075
9: Erik Roussakis $39,168

Poker News
Intertops Poker Download
25 Jan 2019
If an expenses-paid trip to play poker in the Caribbean in March sounds like a good way to beat the late-winter blues, you need to step up to the tables at Intertops Poker. On March 29 the main event of the WSOPC Caribbean will begin at the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino in St.
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365