Jose Montes Wins WSOPC Choctaw For $352,669

Jose Montes Wins WSOPC Choctaw For $352,669Jose Montes has won the World Series of Poker Circuit Choctaw, after defeating a field of 1,363 players over three days on his way to capturing the title, and collecting the $352,669 first place prize. As well as pushing his earnings to $600,045, it also represented the Bronx pro’s first live tournament title, and commenting on what the victory meant to him, Montes explained:
“Tournament poker is so tough. You get so close and it hurts when you lose. Still winning money and it still hurts. You want to win. I am a competitor; competitors want to win every time. I want to play every time and I never want to bust out. I want to win every time.”
The $1,675 Main Event was held at the Choctaw Casino Resort in Durant, Oklahoma, and attracted a good sized field to create a prize pool worth $2,044,500. Amongst the notable players then seeing a return on their buy-ins was Jose Serratos in 149th ($2,740), Maurice Hawkins in 114th ($3,251), Austin Buchanan in 66th ($4,927), Stewart Yancik in 52nd ($5,949), Jordan Smith in 40th ($6,624), Nipun Java in 38th ($6,624), and David Benefield in 20th ($15,804).
After the final table had been reached, chip leader Jose Montes (K-K) eliminated Ryan Tepen (A-K) in 9th ($34,981), before being dealt A-10 and doing likewise to Mohamed Abedi-Arani (9-9) in 7th for $55,672. Continuing his assault, Montes (A-7) then sent Nancy Nguyen (Q-Q) to the rail in 4th ($121,873), followed by Douglas Fusella in 3rd ($160,309) to usher in heads-up against Benjamin Keeline for the title.
During the final battle, Keeline managed to take the chip lead before losing a massive pot holding A-J to his opponent’s A-A, and soon after he was all-in with A-4 against Montes’s 10-9. The dealer subsequently put out a Q-8-6-6-7 board to consign Benjamin Keeline to a runner-up finish worth $218,762, while Jose Montes was crowned the champion.
Final Table Results:
1 Jose Montes – $352,669
2 Benjamin Keeline – $218,762
3 Douglas Fusella – $160,309
4 Nancy Nguyen – $121,873
5 Marc Maxey – $92,779
6 Benjamin Reason – $71,455
7 Mohamed Abedi-Arani – $55,672
8 Alexander Greenblatt – $43,875
9 Ryan Tepen – $34,981

Poker News
Intertops Poker Download
25 Jan 2019
If an expenses-paid trip to play poker in the Caribbean in March sounds like a good way to beat the late-winter blues, you need to step up to the tables at Intertops Poker. On March 29 the main event of the WSOPC Caribbean will begin at the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino in St.
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365