iSeries Dublin Won By James Dempsey

The inaugural iSeries Live event in Dublin has been won by UK pro James Dempsey, who closed out victory in the €10,000 ten-handed Sit-N-Go to claim the €100,000 first place prize.
In a first of its kind, viewers were able to see the players hole-cards and wager on everything from flop colours to who would last longer. It also included one of the toughest line-ups ever assembled, but despite being second favourite to win Phil Hellmuth was first to exit the arena in 10th holding A-Q to Daniel Negreanu’s pocket nines.
However, the Canadian pros delight at lasting longer than his old pal was short lived after a hand in which he pushed all-in on the flop with an open-ended straight flush draw to James Dempsey’s top pair. Negreanu was then out in 8th while Dempsey now had a monster stack.
Short-stacks Faraz “The Toilet” Jaka and “Mad” Marvin Rettenmaier were the next player to exit, while Spaniard Carlos Mortensen could only manage a 4th place finish after Dempsey added his chips to his own.
With Dave “Devilfish” Ulliott subsequently taking out the competition’s only female player Maria Ho, the stage was set for a showdown between the two UK pros. Despite being a slight chip leader James Dempsey proceeded to win six out of seven hands until deal number eight resulted in Ulliott’s elimination holding As-8h to Dempsey’s Ah-Kh.
With his victory in Dublin, the WSOP and WPT title winner now takes his live poker earnings to around $2 million.
The final results of the iSeries Live event was as follows:
1: James Dempsey – $100,000
2: Dave “Devilfish” Ulliott – $0
3: Maria Ho – $0
4: Carlos Mortensen – $0
5: Eoghan O’Dea – $0
6: Faraz Jaka – $0
7: Tobias Reinkemeier – $0
8: Daniel Negreanu – $0
9: Marvin Rettenmaier – $0
10: Phil Hellmuth – $0

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of