Irish Open 2012 Won by Kevin "Civel" Vandersmissen

Kevin Vandersmissen has won the 2012 Irish Open, after defeating a field of 502 players over four days to lift the trophy, and collect the €420,000 ($549,196) top prize.
With his latest victory in Dublin, the Belgium pro’s live career earnings has now reached $1,450,430 with a further $573,454 earned online. Commenting later on his impressive win, Vandersmissen said:
“I feel pretty happy. It’s my first big tournament that I’ve won. I tried to do my best. I felt pretty comfortable. I had to double up in the beginning and had to play very tight but as you saw I’m not afraid to bluff!”
The €3,500 Irish Open attracted a whole slew of pros to the tournament, including Daniel Negreanu, Phil Hellmuth, Freddy Deeb, Maria Ho, James Dempsey, Andy Black, Faraz Jaka, Adam Levy and and Julian Thew. Notable names who cashed included Phil Hellmuth in 33rd (€9400), Freddy Deeb in 27th (€11,200), and Adam Levy in 14th (€15,400).
As the final table of nine was eventually reached, the highest profile player still remaining was Andy Black in 5th, while Kevin Vandersmissen was the shortest stack at the table.
Thomas Beer (A-A) then dispatched both Andy Black (A-K) and Philip Magennis (Q-Q) in a three-way pot while, while Kevin Vandersmissen hung on and managed to double-up twice as other players were eliminated.
When the game reached three-handed play, England’s  Dixie Dean made a button shove (K-5) into the pocket aces of Vandersmissen and so the heads-up phase was set between the Belgium (5.53m) and Germany´s Thomas Beer on a 4.5m stack.
Vandersmissen then reduced Beer’s stack further including a hand in which he held As-Ks to his opponent’s A-J, before the final hand was played in which Beer’s A-K fell to Vandersmissen’s 9-7 after he made trips on the river.
Consequently, Thomas Beer collected €225,000 for his runner-up finish, while
Kevin Vandersmissen was crowned the 2012 Irish Open Champion. Tweeting a few hours after his victory, the Belgium wrote:
“Won the Irish open!!! Ooooohyeaaaah. In the middle of Festung insanely drunk  right now! Thx for all the support!!..Ok i am drunk… But i f***ing Love life!!!
The final payouts were as follows:
1 Kevin Vandersmissen – €420,000
2 Thomas Beer – €225,000
3 David “Dixie” Dean – €158,000
4 Ian Simpson – €107,500
5 Steve Watts – €78,000
6  Jordan Lewis – €59,000
7 Samuel Chartier — €44,500
8 Andy Black – €32,700
9 Philip Magennis – €23,000

Poker News
irish open
08 Apr 2021
The 2021 Irish Open conclude online at parypoker earlier this week with Ukraine’s Pavel Veksler winning the main event. Veksler outlasted an 1880-player field in the €1,100 main event to cash €266,000, which is approximately $316,000 US. The main event was considered to be a huge success as the large field generated a €1.8 million
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365