Irish Masters 2010 Won By Nicholas Newport

Dublin’s Nicholas Newport has won the Irish Masters 2010, after defeating a field of 347 players over three days to take down the title, and collect the €125,000 ($174,605) first place prize.
The €1,650 No Limit Hold’em tournament took place at the Burlington Hotel in Dublin and included a whole host of pros and amateurs, as well as invited VIP’s from the snooker world Mark Williams, Mathew Stevens and Dennis Taylor.
Also there were 105 Paddy Power online qualifiers, the best of which was Slovenian Tomaz Kogovsek, who finished in 18th place and picked up a €20,000 prize package for being the Paddy Power Sole Survivor.
Despite keeping a low profile for the first two days of the competition, Nicholas Newport came into his own on the final day’s play. Patiently growing his chip stack and then topping the leaderboard, Newport eventually saw Tom Finneran eliminated in 3rd (€56,500) to force heads-up play against fellow Irishman Charlie Harvey.
Nicholas Newport held a sizable chip lead over his opponent as the battle commenced, but it still took around an hour before the decisive hand was played with all the money going to the centre of the table on the flop.
Charlie Harvey had made two pair to Newport’s spade flush draw, but a 4s on the river finally sealed Harvey’s fate, who collected €77,000 for his deep run in the tournament.
In the meantime, Nicholas Newport was crowned the Irish Masters 2010 Champion and took down his biggest score to date of €125,000 ($174,605) for his hard fought efforts.
As the Irish Winter Festival drew to a close, PaddyPowerPoker’s Communications Manager declared:
“This year’s Irish Winter Festival was better than ever before and has definitely established itself as one of Europe’s most prestigious tournaments with over €500,000 in the main event prize pool…I am already looking forward to the Irish Open 2011 as I know we can expect just as much craic and entertainment at this event!”

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of