IPT Nova Gorica Won By Claudio Di Giacomo

IPT Nova Gorica Won By Claudio Di GiacomoClaudio Di Giacomo has won the IPT Nova Gorica Main Event, after overcoming a field of 715 players over six days on his way to capturing the title, and collecting the €90,000 ($120,564) first place prize.
The €700 buy-in tournament marked the first time a major European Main Event used the “accumulator” system, in which players can enter multiple Day 1s and take their combined chip tallies forward into the later stages of the tournament. It also proved exceptionally popular with 715 entries helping to create a prize pool worth €436,937.
By the time the final table of nine had been reached, Team PokerStars Pro Pier Paolo Fabretti was out in front as the chip leader (3.68m) with Claudio Di Giacomo a little behind in 4th spot on a 1.9m stack. Eventually, the two competitors would then progress all the way through to heads-up, with both players fairly even in chips.
The protracted heads-up battle subsequently swung back and forth several times until Claudio Di Giacomo caught some good cards and was able to pull away to a 14 million to 3 million chip advantage. The defining hand was then played after Di Giacomo (K-9) shoved on a 9-4-2 flop, with an unconvinced Fabretti deciding to call holding pocket sevens. Unfortunately for him, Fabretti´s two-outer failed to materialize on the turn and river and so he had to settle for a runner-up finish worth €70,000 ($93,772), while Claudio Di Giacomo was crowned the 2013 IPT Nova Gorica Main Event champion.
Final table payouts as follows:
1 Claudio Di Giacomo   €90,000
2 Pier Paolo Fabretti  €70,000
3 Fabrizio D’Agostino  €55,000
4 Andrei Lazar            €30,000
5 Dario Sammartino     €24,000
6 Andrea Bellini       €19,000
7 Walter Coan            €14,000
8 Marco Venturi        €10,837
9 Maurizio Musso       €7,750

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of