Ilkin Garibli Wins PCA High Roller For $1.1 Million

Ilkin Garibli Wins PCA High Roller For $1.1 MillionThe PokerStars Caribbean Adventure $25,000 High Roller attracted 200 players (69 rebuys) to create a prize pool worth $6,456,000, and after three days of intense action it was Azerbaijan’s Ilkin Garibli who emerged atop of the field to capture the title, and collect the $1,105,040 first place prize.
As you would expect, the PCA High Roller was attended by some of the most talented players in the game, and amongst the big name pros subsequently cashing in at the event was Jake Cody in 32nd ($44,540), Davidi Kitai in 25th ($56,820), Jonathan Karamalikis in 24th ($56,820), Andre Akkari in 16th ($79,400), Daniel Negreanu in 14th ($89,100), and Dominik Nitsche in 10th ($112,980). The final table of eight was similarly packed with talent, and after Faraz Jaka (A-8) dispatched Dan Heimiller (K-K) to the rail in 8th for $162,700, Ilkin Garibli talking to, said:
“To be honest I’m happy I cashed, but let’s just say I’d rather win first place. The pay jumps between sixth and seventh don’t really affect me that much. So I’m going for the big money. I hope that can happen.”
Ilkin Garibli (10-10) then proceeded to eliminate Scott Seiver (7-7) in 5th ($398,340), and after Joe Kuether (A-7) took care of Khoroshenin (A-Q) in 3rd ($629,460), the heads-up phase of the competition got underway between Garibli and Kuether for the title.
Despite Garibli holding a 2-1 chip advantage over his final opponent, the two agreed a deal which saw them lock up at least $1 million a piece, with some change and the title left to play for. More than two hours would then elapse before the deciding hand was played with Garibli (K-8) and Kuether (J-J) all-in preflop, and after the dealer spread out a K-7-4-A-3 board, Kuether finished the runner-up while Ilkin Garibli was crowned the 2015 PCA High Roller champion.
Final Table Results:
1 Ilkin Garibli – $1,105,040
2 Joe Kuether – $1,050,000
3 Oleksii Khoroshenin – $629,460
4 Jean-Pascal Savard – $508,080
5 Scott Seiver – $398,340
6 Nick Petrangelo – $301,500
7 Faraz Jaka – $221,440
8 Dan Heimiller – $162,700

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of