Galal Dahrouj Triumphs At 2013 LAPT Panama

Galal Dahrouj Triumphs At 2013 LAPT Panama Galal Dahrouj has won the 2013 Latin American Poker Tour (LAPT) Panama Main Event, after besting a field of 570 players over three days on his way to capturing the title, and collecting the $132,535 first-place prize, following a three-way deal.
The $1,500 + $150 NLH Re-entry Main Event took place in Panama City and attracted a good-sized field of amateurs and pros alike to create a prize pool worth $829,340. Amongst the notable pros reaching one of the 88 money spots, but falling short of a final table appearance was such names as Victor Sbrissa (80th – $2,500), Christian De Leon (48th – $3,200), Angel Guillen (46th – $3,200), Jose “Nacho” Barbero (22nd – $4,540), Bolivar Palacios (13th – $7,840), and Raul Paez ( 10th – $11,940).
By the time the final table of eight had been set, Dahrouj was second in chips (1.965m) behind Carter Gill (2.56m), whose reaction to crashing out of the 2013 WSOP Main Event recently went viral online.
However, Gill was once more disappointed to find his tournament dreams come to an end in 4th spot, although he still takes away $57,060 as a consolation prize. Following Gill’s exit, the final three players made a deal after which Dahrouj (A-5) eliminated Jesus Kafati (8-5) in 3rd ($106,365) to go heads-up against Joel Oliveira.
As the heads-up battle commenced, Galal Dahrouj held a 7.93m to 3.12m chip lead over his final opponent, and before long the defining hand was played after Oliveira moved all-in holding 8-6 on an A-6-2-5 board. Dahrouj (6-5) quickly made the call with two pair and with a 6 then falling on the river, Galal Dahrouj was crowned the 2013 Latin American Poker Tour (LAPT) Panama champion.
LAPT Panama final table results as follows:
1. Galal Dahrouj (Panama) $132,535
2. Joel Oliveira (Brazil) $114,540
3. Jesus Kafati (Honduras) $106,365
4. Carter Gill (US)        $57,060
5. Paulo Carrillo (Brazil) $42,960
6. Raul Pino (Panama)      $32,180
7. Joseph Stefan (US)      $23,880
8. Marco Oliveria (Brazil) $18,080

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of