Farhintaj Bonyadi Becomes First Female WSOP Winner of 2018

Farhintaj Bonyadi Becomes First Female WSOP Winner of 2018

The 2018 World Series of Poker has crowned its first female champion after Farhintaj Bonyadi took down Event #36: $1,000 Super Seniors No-Limit Hold’em for $311,451. The tournament restricted to those over the age of 60 attracted 2,191 players, with the 83 year-old managing to overcome the huge field, including Robert Beach heads-up, to claim a coveted WSOP bracelet.

Family Affair

Iranian born Farhintaj Bonyadi has cashed in at a number of tournaments over the years, with her two biggest scores both coming after runner-up finishes at $235 Rio Daily Deepstacks tournaments in 2012 and 2016, earning her $35,992 and $27,097 respectively. She has also benefited from being taught the game by her son Farzad Bonyadi, a professional player with an impressive 3-WSOP bracelets and $4,160,236 in winnings to his name.

Following Farhintaj’s latest triumph at the Rio Casino in Las Vegas, which now boosts her own winnings to $401,555, her 59 year-old son Farzad commented:

“I was standing there for 20 hours trying to help her out, but she did it on her own. I’m so happy for her. She deserves it. She’s been cashing so many times. She won a tournament for $50,000, for $45,000, but this is her biggest score.”

$1,000 Super Seniors NLHE

The $1,000 NLHE Super Seniors event featured a prize pool just short of $2 million, and offered 329 money places. Amongst the notable pros making a profit on their buy-ins were a number of past bracelet winner, including Chris Bjorin in 263rd ($1,625), Gary Benson in 230th ($1,780), Konstantin Puchkov in 180th place ($1,972), Michael Moore in 125th ($2,209), and two-time bracelet winner Steve Zolotow in 10th ($19,968).

On Day 3, Bonyadi then entered the final table of nine players in seventh place, but managed to chip up after her pocket eights bested Charles Thompson’s pocket sevens to see him off in 7th. Next, Bonyadi (K-Q) sent Russell Sutton (10-10) to the rail in 5th, and after Beach (K-8) took care of Paul Lee (Q-10) in 3rd, heads-up play got underway between Beach and Bonyadi for the title.

Bonyadi vs Beach

Robert Beach entered heads-up holding a 3-to-1 chip advantage over Bonyadi, and managed to extend his lead to 4.5-1 when play was halted overnight. On Day 4, however, Bonyadi fought back bravely and after moving ahead the deciding hand was played with Beach (9s-7s) limping in preflop, and calling a raise from Bonyadi holding 8s-8d. Bonyadi subsequently check-raised the 7c-6d-4d flop, and after Beach made the call, he also called his opponent’s bet on the 3s turn, and her all-in shove on the 5h river.

Unfortunately for Beach, his top pair was no match for Bonyadi’s straight, though, and so he had to settle for a runner-up finish worth $192,397, accounting for all but $5,354 of his lifetime winnings. Meanwhile, Farhintaj Bonyadi captured a prestigious gold bracelet, and heaping praise on his mother’s famous victory, Farzad stated:

“I told her to stay patient even though she was short. And she did it. I think she played aggressive, but he had like 10 million and she had 1.7 [million].. I’m sure she had some luck, but she played very well today. I mean, I’m so proud of her.”

Final Table Results

1: Farhintaj Bonyadi $311,451
2: Robert Beach $192,397
3: Paul Lee $140,273
4: Linda Iwaniak $103,215
5: Russell Sutton $76,655
6: Alan Denkenson $57,465
7: Charles Thompson $43,489
8: Neil Henley $33,227
9: William Fogel $25,633

Past Women Bracelet Winners

Not including Ladies Only events, 13 female players have won 22 WSOP tournaments since 1982, with a woman having won a bracelet every year since 2012. Here is the full list of the women poker players who have managed to accomplish the feat:

1982: Vera Richmond $1,000 Limit Ace to Five Draw ($38,500)
1996: Barbara Enright $2,500 Pot Limit Omaha ($180,000)
1997: Linda Johnson $1,500 Seven-Card Razz ($96,000)
1997: Maria Stern $1,500 Seven-Card Stud ($140,708)

2000: Jerri Thomas $1,500 Seven-Card Stud ($135,825)
2000: Jennifer Harman $5,000 No Limit Deuce to Seven Draw ($146,250)
2001: Nani Dollison $2,000 Limit Hold ‘Em ($441,440)
2002: Jennifer Harman $5,000 Limit Hold ‘Em ($212,440)
2004: Cyndy Violette $2,000 Seven Card Stud Hi-Lo Split ($135,900)
2004: Kathy Liebert $1,500 Limit Hold ‘Em Shootout ($110,180)
2004: Annie Duke $2,000 Omaha Hi-Lo Split ($137,860)
2007: Katja Thater $1,500 Seven Card Razz ($132,653)
2007: Annette Obrestad £10,000 World Championship NLHE ($2,013,733)
2008: Vanessa Selbst $1,500 Pot Limit Omaha ($227,933)

2012: Vanessa Selbst $2,500 10-Game – Six Handed ($244,259)
2013: Dana Castaneda $1,000 No Limit Hold ‘Em ($454,207)
2013: Loni Harwood $1,500 No Limit Hold ‘Em ($609,017)
2014: Vanessa Selbst $25,000 NLHE – Mixed Max ($871,148)
2015: Carol Fuchs $1,500 Dealers Choice Six Handed ($127,735)
2016: Kristen Bicknell $1,000 No Limit Hold ‘Em ($290,768)
2016: Safiya Umerova $1,500 No Limit Hold ‘Em Shootout ($264,046)
2017: Liv Boeree $10,000 Tag Team NLHE Championship ($136,982)