EPT Berlin Won By Davidi Kitai

EPT Berlin Won By Davidi KitaiDavidi Kitai has won the European Poker Tour Berlin, after defeating a field of 745 players to claim the title, and the €712,000 ($941,488) top prize after a deal was struck.
Following his win in the German capital, the Belgium pro becomes only the 5th player to complete a Triple Crown, with his EPT title added to a 2008 victory at the WSOP $2k PLO Event for $244,583, and a WPT win in 2011 at the L.A. Poker Classic for $100,000.
Davidi Kitai now has live tournament earnings of $2,726,325 and commenting on his biggest win to date,  said; “I feel really great, it’s amazing. I never expected to beat this field.”
As the final table at Berlin’s Hyatt Hotel got underway, Davidi Kitai was chip leader on a 5.695m stack, followed by Germany’s Bahadir Kilickeser (4.64m) and Canada’s Andrew Chen (3.6m).
First out was Pratyush Buddiga in 8th ( €72,000), whose four-bet preflop all-in with A-Q was called by Bahadir Kilickeser (A-10), with a 10 then hitting on the turn.
Next, Davidi Kitai eliminated Marc Wright in 7th (€97,000), while 6th (€133,000) spot went to César García, whose A-K faltered against the pocket queens of Mario Puccini.
Bahadir Kilickeser (7-5) on the big blind then re-raised Andrew Chen (K-J) all-in on a J-8-7 flop, who made the call eliminating the German in 5th (€172,000), followed by Mario Puccini in 4th (€220,000) holding J-10 to Kitai’s pocket queens. Subsequently, Chen took out Germany’s last hope André Morath in 3rd (€290,000), thus setting up the heads-up phase of the competition.
After some back and forth, Davidi Kitai pulled ahead of Andrew Chen before the final hand was played when he open-pushed with K-7 into Chen’s A-Q. The K-6-6-3-K board then sealed Chen’s fate who finished the runner-up for €613,000, while Davidi Kitai was crowned the 2012 EPT Berlin Champion.
The final payouts were as follows:
1.Davidi Kitai (Belgium) €712,000
2.Andrew Chen (Canada) €613,000
3.André Morath (Germany) €290,000
4.Mario Puccini (Germany) €220,000
5.Bahadir Kilickeser (Germany) €172,000
6.César García (Spain) €133,000
7.Marc Wright (UK) €97,000
8.Pratyush Buddiga (USA) €72,000

Poker News
European Poker Liquidity Framework Signing on July 6th
11 Dec 2019
Danish high-stakes poker pro Peter Jepsen was found guilty of computer-based theft in a Copenhagen court last week. The charges against Jepsen stemmed from an online poker cheating scam he ran against other high-stake poker pros that netted him at least $4 million. Jepsen, who played online using the screen name Zupp, began running his
Swedish Gambling Market In A State Of Flux
04 Sep 2019
Swedish poker pro Simon Brandstrom won his second poker title in Barcelona this year earlier this week, capturing the record-setting main event at EPT Barcelona. The €5,300 No-Limit Hold’em tournament drew a record crowd of 1,988 players. That topped the previously record of 1,931 players in an EPT main event that was set in Barcelona
US Casinos Generate $3.4BN In September
28 Aug 2019
Spanish poker pro Juan Pardo did the unthinkable at EPT Barcelona this week, after he won back-to-back No-Limit Hold’em High Roller tournaments. Pardo’s first win came in the €25,000 No-Limit Hold’em High Roller. The tournament had a 70-player field, and for outlasting them all Pardo cashed €491,600, or $545,676 US. Most of the attention wasn’t
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently