Dennis Blieden Crowned 2018 WPT LAPC Champion

Dennis Blieden Crowned 2018 WPT LAPC ChampionDennis Blieden has been crowned this year’s WPT LAPC Main Event champion, after overcoming a field of 493 players over six days on his way to capturing the coveted title, and a top prize worth a cool one million dollars. Prior to the victory, Blieden had just two live cashes totaling $21,980, and after taking down the live streamed tournament, PokerGO commentator Andy Frankenberger stated:
“I give him all the credit in the world for coming in and beating a final table with four professionals. He had a lot less experience and a lot of heart. He was very brave.”
The WPT LAPC main event featured a prize pool of $4,681,035, and amongst the players seeing a return on their $10,000 buy-ins was Emanuel Failla in 43rd ($20,950), Joseph McKeehen in 37th ($23,990), Andy Frankenberger in 36th ($23,990), Phil Hellmuth Jr in 15th ($46,940), and Benjamin Zamani in 13th ($57,300).
At the final table, Manuel Martinez (Q-Q) was eliminated in 6th after going all-in on an 8-6-2-6 board, and receiving a call from Blieden holding 8-6, with no further help subsequently arriving on the river. Next, Blieden (A-7) took care of Peter Hengsakul (9-8) in 5th, while Toby Lewis (9-9) sent Marc MacDonnell (A-7) to the rail in 4th.
Finally, Blieden (K-2) eliminated a short stacked Derek Wolters (Q-7) in 3rd to instigate heads-up play against Toby Lewis for the title. At this stage, Blieden held a 4-1 chip lead over his remaining opponent, and two hands later Lewis moved all-in holding 10-10 on a 6-6-3-Q board, only to receive a call from Blieden with A-Q. The 6 on the river then sealed the deal, securing the win for Dennis Blieden, as well as a $15,000 ticket through to the end of season WPT Tournament of Champions.
Meanwhile, the UK’s Toby Lewis collected $600,630 for his runner-up finish, in the process boosting his live career earnings to $4,983,725. In January, Lewsis also took down his biggest score to date after winning the A$10,600 Aussie Millions Main Event for $1,178,513.
Final Table Results:
1: Dennis Blieden $1,000,000
2: Toby Lewis $600,630
3: Derek Wolters $430,210
4: Marc MacDonnell $319,310
5: Peter Hengsakul $244,430
6: Manuel Martinez $186,235
7: Gregory Paryani $143,740
8: Anthony Zinno $112,180
9: Aaron Kaiser $88,590

Poker News
Eliot Hudon wins WPT World Championship
23 Dec 2022
Eliot Hudon has won the largest World Poker Tour event in series history after taking down the WPT World Championship Main Event. The WPT World Championship concluded at Wynn Las Vegas on Tuesday after a WPT record 2,960 players originally bought in for $10,400. That record-setting player pool led to a record-setting $29 million prize
Phil Ivey Becomes Virtue Poker Ambassador
14 Nov 2022
Poker legend Phil Ivey’s return to the mainstream poker world continues as he has been named the latest World Poker Tour Ambassador. Ivey has had success at WPT events in the past, getting his name etched on the Mike Sexton WPT Champions Cup by winning the 2008 WPT L.A. Poker Classic. Ivey has made it
World Poker Tour Sold To Chinese Company For $35 Million
20 Jan 2021
The World Poker Tour has been sold to Element Partners, LLC for a reported $78 million. Element Partners acquired the WPT from Allied Esports Entertainment in a deal that was officially announced on Tuesday. As part of the deal Element Partners will pay Allied Esports $68,250,000 upfront, and the remaining $10 million will be paid
World Poker Tour Sold To Chinese Company For $35 Million
17 Sep 2020
The 2020 World Poker Tour World Online Championship Main Event concluded earlier this week and Phillip Mighall was the last man standing. The $10,300 Main Event drew 1,011 entries and had a $10,110,000 prize pool, which topped the $10 million guarantee. The top 135 players finished in the money, with Mighall claiming the top prize