Carlos Alvarado Crowned Borgata Champ After Chop

Carlos Alvarado Crowned Borgata Champ After ChopCarlos Alvarado has won the 2014 Borgata Spring Poker Open, after besting a field of almost 2,500 players on his way to capturing the title, and collecting the $127,652 top prize (following a four-way chop). After his victory in New Jersey, the New York resident now boasts live career earnings of $2,250,185 to go with the $980,580 he has previously won playing online under the screen name PrtyPsux.
The $560 buy-in re-entry event had a $1 million guaranteed prize pool in place, with the top 200 places assured a minimum payday of $1,264. Philip Neiman subsequently eliminated last woman standing Stephanie Hubbard in 10th ($13,849) to usher in the the final table, after which Adam Pace (8-8) took out Mikhail Mironenko (A-5) in 9th for $21,074.
Zbigniew Fido (A-K) then dispatched a short-stacked Matthew Itkin (A-7) to the rail in 8th ($28,902), before Carlos Alvarado (K-K) did likewise to Fido (J-J) in 7th place for $39,740. Next, Adam Pace (A-9) called an all-in preflop by John Yanni (K-6) and with the board rolling out 3-3-4-Q-3 Yanni, too, exited in 6th for $51,181. Finally, Kevin Grabel eliminated Mitchell Mantin in 5th ($63,223), after which the last four finalists stacked up as follows:
Adam Pace        18,565,000
Kevin Grabel     15,900,000
Philip Neiman    15,330,000
Carlos Alvarado  10,960,000
The players then divvied up the remaining prize pool equally, with 2012 EPT Barcelona Super High Roller runner-up Carlos Alvarado awarded the title.
Final Table Results:
1 Carlos Alvarado  $127,652*
2 Adam Pace       $127,652*
3 Kevin Grabel       $127,652*
4 Philip Neiman       $127,652*
5 Mitchell Mantin   $63,223
6 John Yanni        $51,181
7 Zbigniew Fido        $39,740
8 Matthew Itkin        $28,902
9 Mikhail Mironenko $21,074

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of