Ben Zamani Victorious at WinStar River Poker Series

Ben Zamani Victorious at WinStar River Poker SeriesBen Zamani has won the 2017 WinStar River Poker Series Main Event, after overcoming a field of 926 players, including China’s Chengce Jiang heads-up, to claim a top prize of $347,134. At one stage, though, the Florida pro saw his chip stack fall to less than 10 big blinds on the final day of play before staging a comeback, and commenting later on his remarkable turnaround, explained:
“In a poker tournament, you’re just never out of it. I kept believing and didn’t think about anything else.”
Zamani has now earned $4,459,266 since his first live cash back in 2007, including in 2015 winning a WSOP bracelet at the $1,500 No Limit Hold’em event for $460,640, and another this year at the WSOP $1,500 Omaha Hi/Lo event for $238,620. His biggest score, however, came in 2010 after finishing 4th at the PCA Main Event for $1 million.
The $2,500 WinStar River Poker Series Main Event took place in Thackerville, Oklahoma and featured a prize pool of $2,173,333. Amongst the recognizable pros subsequently booking a cash finish was Brandon Steven in 55th ($6,245), Marvin Rettenmaier in 27th ($13,090), Aaron Massey in 17th ($21,935), and Anthony Spinella in 12th ($32,669).
By the time Zamani entered the final table on Day 3, he had managed to amass a good-sized stack , and eventually succeeded in progressing all the way through to heads-up play where he faced Chengce Jiang for the title. At this stage, the players agreed to split the money $297,760 to $287,134 in Jiang’s favor, based on chip counts, and leave $60,000 over for the ultimate champion. In the end, though, Zamani’s aggression won through against his opponent to claim the victory, and commenting later on the heads-up battle, stated:
“I was definitely being more aggressive. Some things went my way because of my aggression but I also think I made a few mistakes because of that.”
Final Table Results:
1: Ben Zamani $347,134
2: Chengce Jiang $297,760
3: Johanssy Joseph $188,904
4: Dwight Sellars $142,011
5: Lang Nguyen $107,968
6: Chris Hooper $83,073
7: Maxx Coleman $64,650
8: Gnana Duddukuru $50,893
9: Lawrence Porath $40,537
10: Mike Dentale $32,669

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of