Ben Jee Wins Sydney Poker Champs Main Event For $147,229

Ben Jee Wins Sydney Poker Champs Main Event For $147,229Ben Jee has won the 2015 Sydney Poker Champs Main Event, after besting a field of 281 players over three days on his way to claiming the title, as well as its A$200,634 ($147,229) first place prize.
The $3,000 Main Event was held at The Star Casino in Sydney, with the turnout guaranteeing that 30 players would receive a share of the A$786,800 prize pool. Amongst the notable pros subsequently seeing a return on their investment was Jim Psaros in 29th (US$4,042), Nathan Gubieski in 28th ($4,042), Corey Kempson in 27th ($4,619), Todor Kondevski in 26th ($4,619), Minh Nguyen in 19th ($5,774), Matthew Rolfe in 14th ($7,506) and Henry Szmelcer in 12th ($8,661).
By the time the final table of nine was reached, Benjamin Jee was the third biggest stack at the table, behind chip leader Adam Hamkin, and Tony Kambouroglou, with Yusuf Dib in 6th place.
Yusuf Dib with A-K then called the preflop shoves of both Charbel Boustani (J-J) and Ricardo Faura (9-9), and after the board ran out 3-10-10-K-K, Faura hit the rail in 8th ($17,899), followed by Boustani in 7th ($21,940).
Next, Ben Jee (4-3) made a full house on a 4-3-5-2-4 board to take care of Ismail Ismail (A-6) in 6th ($28,003), before Yusuf Dib subsequently eliminated Sam Steindl in 4th ($41,282), and Adam Hamkin in 3rd ($52,831) to usher in heads-up play for the title.
As the final battle got underway, Dib held a 5m to 3.5m chip lead over his final opponent, but Ben Jee managed to chip back and take the lead before the deciding hand was played with Yusuf Dib (K-4) moving all-in on a K-J-9-4-8 board. Ben Jee (K-8) made the call with a higher two pair, and so Yusuf Dib had to then settle for a runner-up finish worth $93,823, while Ben Jee claimed the Sydney Championships Main Event title.
Final Table Results (US$)
1st Ben Jee $147,229
2nd Yusuf Dib $93,823
3rd Adam Hamkin $52,831
4th Sam Steindl $41,282
5th A.Kambouroglou $33,776
6th Ismail Ismail $28,003
7th Charbel Boustani $21,940
8th Ricardo Faura $17,899
9th Duc Vu $13,279

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of