Bart Lybaert Wins FPS Lille Main Event For €122,000

Bart Lybaert Wins FPS Lille Main Event For €122,000Over the past week, the “France Poker Series Lille” has been in full swing at the Hotel Casino Barrière, with the biggest draw of the 14 event tournament series being its Main Event. A total of 745 players subsequently entered the competition, and after three days of action it was Belgium pro Bart Lybaert who eventually triumphed over the field to capture the title, as well as its €122,000 ($133,272) first place prize.
The popularity of the Main Event ensured its €500,000 guaranteed prize pool swelled to an impressive €715,200, and amongst the notable players seeing a return on their €1,100 buy-in was Fabrice Gouget in 26th (€4,020), Abdel Kondah in 24th (€4,020), Dominique Terzian in 23rd (€4,670), Pierre Barthelemy in 22nd (€4,670), Sgorrano Jerome in 18th (€5,390), and Christophe De Meulder in 17th (€ 6,150).
After the final table was set, Bart Lybaert managed to progress all the way through to heads-up play where he faced France’s Jamel Hassani for the title. There was to be no dream ending for the gathered French crowd, however, with the 90 minute battle eventually coming to a conclusion with both Lybaert (3c-2c) and Hassani (Ks-6h) going all-in on a 4c-6d-5c flop. The 2d turn card then presented the possibility of a split pot, but a 6c on the river made Bart Lybaerta a magnificent straight flush to seal the victory.
Following his impressive performance in Lille, Bart Lybaert secured his biggest score to date of €122,000, whilst boosting his tournament earnings to $465,701. His second biggest score came in 2013 after winning the Eureka Main Event in the Czech Republic for €115,000 ($150,348).
Final Table Results:
1: Bart Lybaert € 122,000
2: Jamel Hassani € 85,300
3: Sonny Franco € 60,100
4: Arthur Conan € 45,600
5: Julien Bottollier € 36,100
6: Romain Peacock € 27,400
7: Romain Morin € 20,100
8: Matti Konttinen € 15,100
9: Eemil Tuominen € 12,100

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of