Aussie Millions Enters Day 4 As 26 Remain; Ivey 6th

After Days 1A, 1B and 1C of the 2012 Aussie Millions Main Event were completed, around half of the 659 starting field returned to compete on Day 2 of the $10,000 event. By the end of the day 75 players remained, which was then cut further to just 26 players by the end of Day 3. 
As Day 3 got underway at the Crown Casino in Melbourne, three players faced the indignity of falling short of the 72 man tournament bubble worth $15,000. First to leave empty handed was Frank Paul on 2BB, whose A-J push foundered against the 8-5 of Kenna James, followed soon after by Paul Wilde, and Lorinda Johnson.
Other notable players hitting the rail throughout the day included Kenna James, Billy Argyros, Alexander Roumeliotis, Ben Savage, Michael Tureniec, Dominykas Karmazinas and Andrew Hinrichsen.
Then on the final hand of the night, Matthew Turk and Jason Koon‘ were sitting on big stacks of over 1.2 million each when all their money went in pre-flop with Koon’s A K racing against Turk’s pocket tens. The huge pot would propel one player to the chip leader, while sending the other home, prompting Koon to exclaim:
“Let’s flip for all the chips. Whoever wins this wins the tournament.”
However, despite Koon hitting his king, the K-10-9 flop all but put ended his chances and so he finished in 27th place for $35,000, later tweeting:
“Unreal how heartbreaking tourney poker can be. Paint a Picasso over 3 days and just lose a massive flip for all the money.”
Meanwhile, Matthew Turk finished the chip leader on a 2,675,000 stack, more than 1.2 million ahead of his nearest rival Tim O’Shea.
Another big story of the day involves Phil Ivey making it through to the last 26 in 6th position (1.107m) after a solid day in which he chipped up gradually. It also represents Ivey’s first ever cash in the Aussie Millions  Main Event, who now will be aiming to take down his biggest ever tournament score of $1.6 million.
As Day 4 gets underway later today, the top ten stacks are as follows:
Matthew Turk: 2,675,000
Tim O’Shea: 1,376,000
Patrick Healy: 1,353,000
Bjorn Li: 1,222,000
Yann Dion: 1,156,000
Phil Ivey: 1,107,000
Daniel Idema: 1,033,000
Minh Nguyen: 992,000
Borge Dypvik: 882,000
Lee Nelson: 878,000

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of