Artyem Perlov Wins Mohegan Sun National Championship

Artyem Perlov Wins Mohegan Sun National ChampionshipArtyem Perlov has won the DeepStacks Poker Tour Mohegan Sun National Championship, after defeating a field of 251 players over four days to lift the title, and collect the $108,864 first place prize (after a deal was struck).
The $2,500 buy-in tournament in Fort Lee, NJ  attracted a whole slew of amateurs and pros alike to create a prize pool worth $559,981. Amongst the notable names competing was Vanessa Selbst, Michael Mizrachi, Mike Matusow, Allen Kessler, Tristan Wade, Chip Jett and Vinny Pahuja.
By the time the final table of six had been reached Andrew Sherman-Ash was the short-stack at the table but managed to double up holding Ah-Kh to David Stefanski’s pocket jacks. Soon after, Sherman-Ash (A-7) scored a double elimination in a preflop  contest against Nicholas Palma (A-5) and Patrick Chan (A-Q). The board subsequently rolled out 7-5-4-8-9 to eliminate Nicholas Palma in 6th ($25,759) and Patrick Chan in 5th ($33,599), after which the remaining players struck a four-way deal with an extra $38,864 going to the eventual winner.
Next, Adam Bitker (A-7) dispatched a short-stacked David Stefanski (Q-10) to the rail in 4th ($70,000), but was then eliminated himself in 3rd ($70,000) after his pocket jacks ran into the pocket queens of Sherman-Ash.
As the heads-up phase of the competition got underway, the stacks were fairly even but 53 hands later it was all over with Sherman-Ash (Ah-10s) and Artyem Perlov (Ad-8h) all-in preflop. Fortune then favoured Perlov as the board fell 10d-4d-2d-3c-6d to relegate Sherman-Ash to a runner-up finish worth $100,000, while Artyem Perlov was crowned the champion.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1 Artyem Perlov    $108,864
2 Andrew Sherman-Ash $100,000
3 Adam Bitker    $70,000
4 David Stefanski $70,000
5 Patrick Chan    $33,599
6 Nicholas Palma $25,759

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of