APPT Queenstown Snowfest Won By Dave Allan

APPT Queenstown Snowfest Won By Dave AllanAustralia’s Dave Allan has won the APPT Queenstown Snowfest, after defeating a field of 149 players over five days to lift the title, and collect the NZ$110,600 (US$88,500) top prize.
The NZ$2,700 buy-in event took place at the SKYCITY in Auckland, but was dominated by players from Australia with the highest cashing Kiwi Chiu Yeung Lee finishing in 10th place (NZ$9,060), just bubbling the final table. First to exit the final table was David Evans in 9th ($12,070) holding Q-Q to Ken Demlakian’s A-K, followed by a short stacked Ivan Zalac in 8th ($15,100), whose pocket fives were no good against the pocket nines of Ricky Kroesen.
Next, Bryan Huang departed in 7th ($19,100) in a 7-7 versus K-K match-up, while Matt Wakeman went home in 6th ($23,10) having dropped to just 13 BBs and shoving his Ad-5h into the 6-6 of Jordan Westmorland. David Zhao was then Westmorland’s next victim in 5th ($28,200), followed by Ricky Kroesenin in 4th ($34,200) before Ken Demlakian dispatched Westmorland in 3rd ($41,200) to go heads-up against David Allan.
At this stage, Demlakian held a slight lead and after some back and forth looked poised to finish of his opponent who had dropped to 20BB. However, Allan mounted his comeback and 2 hours into their heads-up battle the last hand was played with Allan (10s-3s) and Demlakian (7h-3d) all-in on a 8d-3s-7s-Qc board, with the Ks river then completing Allan’s flush to hand him the victory.
Following the successful tournament, SKYCITY Queenstown’s General Manager Michelle Baillie commented: “We are thrilled to have hosted such a great poker tournament at SKYCITY Queenstown Casino and we are proud of the positive impact the tournament has had on Queenstown tourism. ..We congratulate David and look forward to working with the team on next year’s event.”
The final table payouts were as follows:
1 David Allan    110,600
2 Ken Demlakian    70,400
3 Jordan Westmorland 41,200
4 Ricky Kroesen    34,200
5 David Zhao    28,200
6 Matt Wakeman    23,100
7 Bryan Huang    19,100
8 Ivan Zalac    15,100
9 David Evans    12,070

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of