APPT Cebu Main Event Won By Hoang Anh Do

APPT Cebu Main Event Won By Hoang Anh DoVietnam’s Hoang Anh Do has won the APPT Cebu Main Event, after defeating a field of 246 players over four days to lift the trophy, and collect the PHP 5,927,000 (USD $140,000) first place prize.
As the final table of the PHP100,000 (US$2,360) buy-in event got underway at the Shangri-La’s Mactan Resort in the Phillipines, Amit Varma (India) was the chip leader (1.241m) with Hoang Anh Do in 3rd spot (810k) and Nicholas Wong (Hong Kong) lying in 8th (142k) at the nine man table.
Amit Varma (Q-10) then eliminated Sameer Rattonsey (J-10) in 6th, after calling his Indian compatriot’s re-raise push on a J-9-2 flop only for an 8 to hit on the turn. However, Varma soon fell to a short stack and exited not long after in 5th when his A-10 shove ran into the pocket kings of Nicholas Wong. Subsequently, Wong (A-Q) dispatched Michael Kanaan (10-10) in 4th and Alistair Duff in 3rd to go heads-up against Hoang Anh Do.
At this stage, Hoang Anh Do held a 3.4 million to 1.3 million chip lead against Wong and it wasn’t long before the defining hand was played when Hoang Anh Do was dealt As-8s to his opponent’s Ah-10h. The 5d-8d-5s saw Do check-call the flop with both players then checking the 4s turn before the Ah saw Do check and Wong announce all-in.
Nevertheless, Hoang Anh Do went into the tank for two minutes before making the right call to relegate Nicholas Wong to a runner-up finish worth PHP 3,732,000 (US$88,028). Meanwhile, after almost nine hours of final table play, Hoang Anh Do was crowned the 2012 APPT Cebu Main Event champion, with the final table payouts as follows:
1st Hoang Anh Do (Vietnam) – PHP 5,927,000
2nd Nicholas Wong (Hong Kong) – PHP 3,732,000
3rd Alistair Duff (Australia) – PHP 2,086,000
4th Michael Kanaan (Australia) – PHP 1,592,000
5th Amit Varma (India) – PHP 1,317,000
6th Sameer Rattonsey (India) – PHP 1,043,000
7th Jacky Wang (Australia) – PHP 823,000
8th Jae Kyung Sim (Korea) – PHP 658,500
9th Antoine Amourette (France) – PHP 494,000

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of