Andy Bloch Wins EPL Pro/Am Event

Andy Bloch Wins EPL Pro/Am EventAndy Bloch has won the Epic Poker League (EPL) Pro/Am Event, after defeating a field of 187 players to win a small cash prize worth $24,085, plus a $20,000 seat to the EPL Main Event Series Three on December 14-17.
The $1,500 Pro/Am Event offers a less expensive means to qualify for the EPL Main Event and, with his latest win, Andy Bloch has now qualified for the Main Event for the second time out of three competitions.
After Day 1a and 1b of the tournament were completed, 28 players from the original 187 strong starting field returned on Day 2 and played down to a final table of nine.
All players were then guaranteed a $20,000 EPL seat, but were competing for kudos and prize-money ranging from nothing for 9th place to $24,085 for the winner.
Four hours later into Day 3, and Andy Bloch eventually found himself competing heads-up against Ryan Schmidt. The Alaskan poker pro has won $300,000 since cashing-in at his first tournament two and a half years, but faced a stern test competing against  Bloch heads-up.
Throughout their hour long battle, Bloch managed to exploit flaws in his opponent’s game, while also often hitting his river cards to catch Ryan bluffing. Nevertheless, both players will meet again as the EPL Series Three Main Event gets underway at the Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas, today.
The final payouts were as follows:
1st: Andy Bloch ($20k seat + $24,085)
2nd: Ryan Schmidt ($20k seat +$12,040)
3rd: Marina Baroco ($20k seat + $7,150)
4th: Chris DeMaci ($20k seat + $4,890)
5th: Chris Woodbury ($20k seat + $3,390)
6th: Tony Gargano ($20k seat + $2,630)
7th: Ben Palmer ($20k seat + $1,880)
8th: Joe Parille ($20k seat + $1,130)
9th: Dwyte Pilgrim ($20k seat)
The Epic Poker League (EPL) first began this year, and so far the list of winners include David Rheem, who won Series One for $1 million, and Mike McDonald, who took down Series Two for $782,410.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of