Andrew VanBlair Wins Mid-States Poker Tour For $89k

Andrew VanBlair Wins Mid-States Poker Tour For $89kAndrew VanBlair has won the Mid-States Poker Tour Tama, after besting a field of 348 players over three days on his way to capturing the title, and collecting the $88,958 first place prize.
The $1,000 buy-in tournament took place at the Meskwaki Casino Hotel in Iowa and attracted a good sized field just one player short of the largest ever recorded in Meskwaki history during Season 3. Amongst the notables cashing in at this year’s event was Peixin Liu in 34th ($1,678) and Larry Ormson in 15th ($4,700).
By the time the final table of nine had been set, Andrew Vanblair was second in chips only to Kansas construction operator Shane Fuller, and as the table played down to its final few players it would be theses two big stacks who would eventually meet heads-up to decide the event.
Despite the tournament being the longest in MSPT history, the heads-up affair was an all together much shorter affair with Vanblair able to overcome his initial 3-to-1 chip disadvantage to beat his opponent in just 10 hands. The deciding hand was then played at 2:30 a.m. local time, when Vanblair  three-bet shoved with A-4 over the top of Fuller’s A-9. Unfortunately for the Kansas man the board subsequently rolled out K-Q-4-5-5 to relegate him to a runner-up finish worth $48,672, while Andrew Vanblair was crowned the 2013 Mid-States Poker Tour Tama champion.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1 Andrew Vanblair  $88,958
2 Shane Fuller       $48,672
3 Derek Dempster   $32,224
4 Sam De Silva       $21,819
5 Nathan Russler   16,784
6 Everett Carlton  $13,427
7 Brett Schwertley $11,749
8 Derek Crooks       $10,070
9 Shaun Decker       $8,392

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of