Americas Cup of Poker 2011 Won By Canada

Canada has won the 2011 Americas Cup of Poker for the second consecutive year, after battling it out for two days at the Mantra Resort, Spa and Casino in Uruguay.
The Canadian team was led by Greg DeBora and was one of seven teams competing at the PokerStars created event. Each team has a PokerStars Pro captain heading his group, with the other countries represented at this year’s tournament including Mexico, Venezuela, Argentina, Colombia, Brazil and ‘The Rest of Latam.’
After their stunning victory, a jubilant Greg DeBora commented:
“When we raise our kids in Canada, the first thing we teach them is poker…This (ACP) is a really fun event because you’re part of a team and you’re representing your country. Everybody played hard and did well. Once again, Team Canada came through!”
The first round of the Americas Cup of Poker consisted of a series of ‘Sit and Go’ tournaments, with Canada, Mexico, Venezuela and Brazil then making it through to the to the semi-finals.
Canada then beat Brazil 5-0, while Mexico beat Venezuela 4-1 to set up an exciting final round. However, there was no letting up by the Canadian team who then went on to inflict another emphatic 5-0 defeat on the Mexican side, to secure for their team the trophy, a first place prize of $25,000 and most importantly bragging rights on behalf of their country.
The final payouts were as follows:
1st: Canada ($25,000)
2nd: Mexico ($20,000)
3rd: Venezuela ($15,000)
4th: Brazil ($12,000)
5th: Argentina ($10,000)
6th: Rest of Latam ($8,000)
7th: Colombia ($5,000)
The first Americas Cup of Poker was played in 2009, with Brazil beating Argentina in the final, followed last year by Canada triumphing against the U.S.A.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of