Alex Spencer Wins 2014 Sky Poker UK Championships For £125k

Alex Spencer Wins 2014 Sky Poker UK Championships For £125kAlex Spencer has won the 2014 Sky Poker UK Poker Championship Main Event, after besting a field of 621 players on his way to capturing the title, and collecting the £125,000 first place prize.
The 20-year old pro from Doncaster was in great form leading into the the tournament, and his latest victory comes on the back of a win in January at the Grosvenor 25/25 Main Event in Sheffield for £13,150, followed in February by a 3rd place finish at the £150,000 Guaranteed Deepstack Dusk Till Dawn for £14,000.
As the Sky Poker £1,100 buy-in tournament reached its final table of nine, Alex Spencer (5.2m) was more than 2 million chips ahead of his nearest rival Danny Blair (3.11m), with other players at the table including James Rimmer (1.88m), Deborah O’Connell (1.84m), Paul Delaney    (1.62m), Charles Chattha (1.57m), Allan Graham (1.36m), Steven Sargent (1.19m), and John Haigh (870k).
Alex Spencer (9-9) would subsequently eliminate his first opponent James Rimmer (A-2) in 4th for £37,500, before being dealt K-Q and doing likewise to Paul Delaney (A-8) in 3rd (£50,000), to go heads-up against Danny Blair for the title.
As the heads-up battle got underway, Spencer held a huge 13.8m to 4.8m chip advantage over Blair, who was then able to claw his way in front until losing a 10-10 versus A-K race to see his stack reduced to just a few big blinds. Soon after Blair pushed his last 6bbs in with Q-Q, but unfortunately for him Spencer’s K-3 hit on the 10-K-6-9-6 board to consign him to a runner-up position worth £75,000, while Alexander Spencer was crowned the champion.
Final Table Results:
1 Alex Spencer     £125,000
2 Danny Blair        £75,000
3 Paul Delaney        £50,000
4 James Rimmer        £37,500
5 Steven Sargent    £28,000
6 Charles Chattha   £21,000
7 Deborah O’Connell £16,000
8 Allan Graham        £12,500
9 John Haigh        £10,000

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of