Alan Gold Wins UKIPT Galway Main Event For $250k

Alan Gold Wins UKIPT Galway Main Event For $250kAlan Gold has just won the 2013 UK & Ireland Poker Tour (UKIPT) Galway, after defeating a field of 860 players over four days on his way to capturing the title, and collecting the €187,494 ($248,923) first place prize.
Incredibly, the Scottish online cash game pro actually qualified for the UKIPT Galway Main Event via a sattelite on Full Tilt Poker, but would then go on to dominate the competition, consistently staying near the top of the leader board throughout the whole tournament.
The €1,000 buy-in UKIPT Galway Main Event was the culmination of the  celebrated 60 event festival held in Ireland, and attracted a huge field to create a prize pool worth €970,000, meaning the €1m guaranteed tournament had a €140,000 overlay. Amongst the notables cashing in at the event were such pros as Roy Brindley in 57th (€2,910), Padraig Parkinson in 38th (€4,360), and Max Silver in 9th (€13,100).
By the time the final table of eight had been reached, Alan Gold (Scotland), was the chip leader on a 4.050m stack, followed by Ireland’s Daragh Davey (3.435m), and then the table’s second Scot in the guise of Paul Febers (2.91m). Also competing for the title was Dimitri Pembroke (Ireland), Christy Morkan (Ireland), Benjamin Spragg (England), Jonathan Slater (England), and Damian Porebski (Poland).
Alan Gold then proceeded to steam roll his way through his final table competitors, starting with Damian Porebski in 5th, Dimitri Pembroke in 4th, and Daragh Davey in 3rd. Gold would subsequently enter the heads-up phase of the competition holding a 12m to 4.755m chip advantage over Paul Febers, with the short affair quickly over after Gold was dealt Q-J to his opponent’s 9-9. As the board rolled out Q-6-5-Q-K, Gold successfully managed to extract value from Febers on all streets, who eventually committed his remaining chips on the river.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1st Alan Gold         €187,494
2nd Paul Febers         €149,906
3rd Daragh Davey     €80,400
4th Dimitri Pembroke €62,000
5th Damian Porebski  €45,300
6th Benjamin Spragg  €30,210
7th Christy Morkan   €22,310
8th Jonathan Slater  €16,500

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of