Aaron Massey Wins WinStar River Poker Series For $660k

Aaron Massey Wins WinStar River Poker Series For $660kAaron Massey has just won the WinStar River Poker Series, after defeating a field of 1,396 players over five days to lift the title, and collect the $659,559 first place prize.
Aaron Massey is one of the hardest working grinders on the circuit and has been dealing with the ups and downs of the game over the past few years. Following his remarkable win at the WinStar World Casino in Thackerville, Oklahoma, the Illinois poker pro has now pushed his $357,709 in live tournament earnings past the million dollar mark. News of Massey’s victory immediately drew congratulations and advice from well-wishers, including Mark S Smith, who tweeted:
“@nevermissmassey Be smart with your good fortune. Treat this like the business it is, If you lose your money, you just fired yourself !!!”
The $2,100 re-entry tournament had three starting days with Massey eliminated on both Day 1A and Day 1B before making it through at his last attempt. Amongst those top pros buying in three times but leaving empty-handed was Vanessa Selbst, Dwyte Pilgrim, Greg Raymer and Allen Kessler.
As the tournament progressed, notable players cashing along the way included Maria Ho in 90th, Chris Moneymaker in 87th, WSOP October Nine Robert Salaburu in 60th and David “Doc” Sands in 20th. Eventually, the last day of play then saw the final table of eight get underway with Aaron Massey holding a slight chip lead.
Massey was then able to press his advantage forward and finally overcome Andy Robinson heads-up to capture the $651,559 first-place prize and become the 2012 River Poker Series Main Event Champion.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1: Aaron Massey – $659,559
2: Andy Robinson – $334,030
3: Matt Newcombe – $195,160
4: Jay Merchant – $139,400
5: Peter Zhmutski – $111,520
6: Patricia Cardner – $97,580
7: Cord Garcia – $83,640
8: Chris Hooper – $69,700
9: Matt Shepsky – $62,730

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of